My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Winter Writing Festival

Second Annual Winter Writing Festival, sponsored by the lovely women at The Ruby Slippered Sisterhood, starts on January 11th! It goes until the end of February, so it’s plenty of time to write as well as connect with some of the other participants.

Here’s the official site in case you’re interested. It’s sort of like a personal NaNoWriMo, only you set the goals and give yourself a point each day for completing it. For example, I’m attempting to write 1000 words per day and take part in a live writing sprint on the website’s chat forum at least twice a week. I have found that writing with others helps me get the words out :)

Since I’m probably 2/3 done with my first draft, I am hoping I can keep up enough to finish it by the end of the winter. And maybe this year I can actually enter the Golden Heart competition.

Anyway, it’s a great opportunity to start that long-planned novel or edit one you’ve had hiding away for so long. Even if it’s just the planning phase, now is the time to get started!

I forgot to mention that there will be giveaways too :) Ultimately though, the best part has to be joining other writers. Even though writing is said to be a lonely activity, it’s always nice to connect with others. It helps :)

Note: I will post a badge up in the corner that will take you straight to their page in case anyone else is interested.

Comments on: "Winter Writing Festival" (2)

  1. Hmm…maybe I should take part in it this year. It’s definitely a good opportunity to put some structure back into my writing routine. I just have to figure out what my daily goal would be…

  2. Thanks for mentioning this! I really, really want to finish my WIP before April so I think I need to do more than 1k a day. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

