My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Banner for my novel, created by a fellow NaNoWriMo Participant

Banner for my novel, created by a fellow NaNoWriMo Participant

Isn’t that the best? August. over on the NaNo forums is taking requests from people (up to November I think) for a banner.

Here’s the link to the thread:

Taking Banner Requests

Anyway, I think it looks great–they even used the singer who I base my MC’s looks off of 🙂 (I suggested it and they found a good picture).

Anyway, I know some don’t see the value in NaNo–I’ve read some comments about how it’s only for “amateur” novelists and those not serious enough to commit all the way. I know others think it’s too much hype.

Though that’s true for many, I know it’s also a falsehood, since without NaNo, unfortunately I don’t think I would have been able to write nearly as much as I have for my book–and not in a month’s time. I suppose I’m not as dedicated in some aspects as I should be…but NaNo helps fuel the dedication. It’s also helped me connect with others in the area and be a part of a critique group (again, something a great many writers say is unnecessary, though I disagree in many aspects…that’s another post though :P)

Besides, writers of NaNo have been published, and by some pretty notable companies too.

Did you know that Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants was written during NaNo? A book that ended up on the Bestseller’s list nonetheless.

NaNoWriMo may not be for everyone–but it’s definitely something that I encourage others who aspire to write a novel to at least look at. 🙂

Comments on: "Awesome Novel Banners and the Inspiration of NaNoWriMo" (5)

  1. I LOVE NANO!

    anyone who says it’s bogus… hmmm…

    it makes you write. the words aren’t great, but they are there, and gives one the sense of accomplishment.

    love that banner!!!

  2. I dunno, 23 published out of 50,000 winners out of 325,000 participants? That’s not a very encouraging sales pitch to me.

    0.007% published

    It just makes me think that good ‘ol slow-and-steady is the right way to go, both to write well and to preserve the old sanity bucket.

    http://josephrobertlewis.wordpress.com/

  3. Thanks for the link with the banner. I’ve posted my request for one.

    For me, Nano this year will be about developing the habit of writing at least 1667 words a day.

  4. I wonder if I’ll be able to write as much as I want to. I wrote a book during the period and had some excerpts published from it. The only thing I didn’t like about the month was that it passed in a blur and I still only got 48k words done.

    Thanks for the link!

  5. […] went over to visit Dara at Chrysanthemum Promise and got sucked up in NaNo fever again.  I didn’t plan to do it, but I do have an idea for a […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

