My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

I went to a write-in tonight at this cute little cafe where we had an entire conference room to ourselves. Most of the night there were around five of us, with one or two there for an hour or so. I was there from 6 p.m. to nearly 11.

And only managed to get 2,732 written in that time. I should’ve easily hit 3 or 3.5 but of course when you get a bunch of writers together, we tend to talk a lot, and things go off on some wacky, wacky tangents (a good hour of this time was spent talking…probably more like an hour and a half throughout the night).

Still, the comraderie is good and I still managed to get a good chunk written. And of course the best part is I’m now ahead of my sister. MWAHAHA. (Can you tell I’m just the teensiest bit competitive?)

I may go to another write in tomorrow afternoon but I’m unsure because Phil’s leaving on a business trip to Seattle on Sunday afternoon and will be gone 10 days. But he insists I ought to make it to all the write ins I can, so we’ll see. It depends if I feel like driving the 30 plus minutes to get there šŸ˜›

Ok that’s it; time for the daily word count update:

Word count: 16,806

Comments on: "So Much Time…But Not So Many Words" (3)

  1. Sounds like you managed to get plenty done even with all the talking! lol I so envy your write ins, I really wish there was some kind of group around here, maybe another year šŸ˜‰

  2. Hey Dara!
    Stumbled through your blog from Courtney Vail’s site. Another fellow writer who also likes Japan (I’ve been wanting to go there myself).

    Never get in a roomful of writers! I did that too and nothing gets done because we’re so busy chatting away. And I’m glad to see that you’re in a competition with your sister to give you lots of drive for NaNoWriMo.

    Good luck with the word count! šŸ˜€

  3. You’ve made good progress. Keep on tapping those keys. šŸ™‚

Leave a comment