My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

I’m putting a plug in for literary agent Nathan Bransford’s Ultimate 1st Paragraph Challenge. All the details are on his site, but the gist of it is to submit the first paragraph of your WiP by Thursday, the 11th at 4 p.m. Pacific time. (I’m sure he’ll love even more entries to read, lol). He’ll post the finalists on Friday and then readers will vote on which one they think is the best.

Currently there are almost 1000 comments/entries. I doubt I’ll win or even come close, but it was interesting to at least enter. Can’t say I didn’t try, right?

Here’s what I entered:

The brisk fall breeze blew throughout the small garden, bringing with it the promise of the long, cold, winter.
The winter of my life, young Sophie thought. A tiny cry came from her baby, as if sensing the despair of the moment.
“Hush, my little one,” she said. “No need to cry.” She rocked her daughter, trying to soothe her while wiping the tears from her own eyes.

Not the greatest piece of prose ever written, but I’m rather fond of it at least 🙂

Anyway, it’s interesting to read some of the entries and see what people are working on. There’s definitely a lot of talent out there!

Comments on: "Who Wants to Enter a Writing Contest?" (16)

  1. Thanks for the heads-up on the contest. 🙂

  2. I’m interested to see the outcome too. Poor Nathan has many comments to read!

  3. That sounds like fun! Maybe I’ll throw down for that. Too bad I don’t have much more than that for my story. Maybe this will help me actually write the thing.

    Thanks for the heads-up!

  4. Good luck Gypsy and Dara and everyone!

    I *love* your opening, Dara. It paints a vivid image, shows *a lot* of information (show vs. tell), therefore making me wish for more, and it’s poignant. Just lovely.

    What I like about this contest the most, personally, is how I’m rooting as much for my blogging friends to win, as I would for myself!: )

    It’s such a thrill, too. Putting your work out there under the perusal of the publishing gatekeepers has got to be one of the biggest thrills. I woke up this morning like you do on Xmas morning, knowing something special was in the air — and then I remembered the contest. I love that. : )

    My guess, with how hard working and on top of things Nathan seems to be, is that he’s been reading the openings daily and making notes. I couldn’t imagine starting from the beginning and having to read them all at once.

    Good luck everyone! And don’t forget to remind yourself of your writing bravery for entering in the first place!

    Em

  5. Thanks Em! You made my day 🙂

  6. Kathleen Peacock said:

    I can’t believe he’s still finding time to blog and ask for suggestions.

    It would be fabulous to be a finalist, but I’ll be happy if just one person likes my paragraph enough to click on my name and check out my blog.

  7. I entered. I want to chat about reality TV with him. ha!

  8. Kathleen–I agree! There are so many good ones there that I doubt I’ll come close, but having one person like my paragraph (one person already said they did!), that makes me happy 🙂

    Zoe–I don’t know if I could talk reality tv for very long as I only really watch two reality shows…but it would be awesome all the same!!

  9. Oh, I missed my chance! I’m really interested to see how it turns out. Now heading over to devour some great first paragraphs…

  10. Well, that’s that. The results are up today, instead of Friday, and I’m not on the list.

    I still loved the thrill, though. It was a very thrilling few days, lol. : )

    And, I still think it took a lot of bravery to enter in the first place. So, hats off to everyone who had the courage to add their paragraphs to the pile.

    Em

  11. I’m not on the list either, didn’t expect to be. 😛

  12. I didn’t expect to be, but I was hoping.

    Em

  13. Dara,

    In case you haven’t seen my comment over at Em’s blog- you made my list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

