My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

How to Improve

The contest winner over on Nathan’s blog has been chosen. Congrats to Natalie! I voted for hers because it was the most unique (in my opinion) and catchy.

I also discovered one of the likely reasons mine did not place (and I kind of thought this before I entered the contest too). 

It fell into a prevalent, and often predictable, pattern–the weather pattern 😛

Unfortunately, I tend to use this one way too often–I’ve even been told so by my critique group. One of the most difficult things for me is starting a scene. It always starts slow–either because I’m using the often cliched weather description or it just isn’t catchy enough. Of course, I’ve been told after the first paragraph or two, it jumps into action and gets pretty good, but I’ve got to work on the starting part.

So, when the book is finished and I start the revision process, I have to focus on (among other things) perfecting my beginning paragraph, whether it’s for the book or for the scene. I believe this may also fall on the outlying regions of setting the mood and description–the latter which I always have problems with too. If a book could be all dialogue, I’d do wonderful since I think it’s one of my stronger areas. But alas, that would make for a very dull book 😛

Comments on: "How to Improve" (4)

  1. Perhaps you should try writing a script? The thought occurred to me when I re-read my nano effort. It was full of dialogue that worked pretty well, but the rest of it….

    Well, revision is where the real magic happens. Good tip!

  2. I would really have to look on how to do that–I’ve never attempted one before. Perhaps that could be my next project 🙂

  3. fromahouseonbrownave said:

    What is your method for re-seeing your work? When you re-look at your paragraphs, your scenes, how do you do it? I have a couple tips in case you’re interested in what’s been taught to me. It’s useful for getting closer to your characters and finding the important things, the crucial details for painting your character sketches and your subtext. Drop me a comment on my site if you’re curious!

  4. If your first couple of paragraphs are descriptions, followed by your entry into the action, try axing the first couple of paragraphs. Put it aside, read it again later, and then see how if feels. You may find out that you don’t need the paragraphs at all.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

