My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Contest Time Again!

This contest comes from literary agent Rachelle Gardner. It’s very simple. Write a haiku (you know–the standard 5-7-5 syllable pattern) about the writing life or the holidays.

The deadline is Saturday, the 20th, 11:59 p.m.; finalists should be up on Monday for readers/voters.

I submitted mine, the horrible poet that I am πŸ˜› I wrote this in ten minutes, as is probably obvious but it’s lack of poetic quality. Anyway, I decided to try in the limited amount of syllables to convey my passion for writing historical fiction, but that’s probably not that easy to see, lol. But hey I decided to try–who can turn down the oppportunity to have the first ten pages of a manuscript critiqued or a $20 Amazon gift card?

Characters find me
Voices from the distant past
Begging to be heard.

Go ahead and give it a try–it can’t hurt!

Comments on: "Contest Time Again!" (4)

  1. I don’t think I have a poetic bone in my body. I do occassionally enter fiction contests though, I’ve even won a few of them πŸ™‚

  2. Kathleen Peacock said:

    I like yours. Oh my goodness, though, some of those are so funny.. must express torture of being unpublished through haiku…

  3. I can’t write poetry so this is one contest I’ll hang back and watch. (unless you want to count those angst-filled tomes I penned as a teenager)

    Good luck with yours. It’s really good.

  4. Thanks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

