My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

The End…?

So, I’m getting closer and closer to the end of my novel, yet I’m encountering a bit of writer’s block on how to end it. I am finding flaws in every possibility (too cliched and too unrealistic mainly). I know I should just let it simmer, but really, that’s all I’ve done for the past year 😛

Basically, it’s this–I’m trying to figure out how my MC is rescued/discovered (she’s been kidnapped by enemies of her father’s). And I’m at a complete loss.

I thought that maybe somehow someone from the house she’s staying at got the word out, but then the house would be monitored and guarded too well for that to happen. That is also a bit on the cliched side too.

Argh. My brain hurts thinking about it.

It’s so frustrating. I hate not knowing and not being able to figure it out! I know it will come to me at some point but it’s hard waiting and trying to find it.

As a writer, what do you do in situations like this? How do you calm yourself down and wait for that elusive Muse to enlighten you?

Comments on: "The End…?" (7)

  1. When I reach this point, I take a walk, even if it’s only to the bathroom and back, and think about something else. It helps clear my head, and sometimes my muse gets confused and let’s me in on the secret she’s been keeping from me. I’ve tried sitting at the computer and staring out the window, or closing my eyes in hopes of the fog clearing, but this doesn’t work most of the time. Good luck with your ending.

  2. I talk stuff out. to myself… 🙂 usually in the shower or alone in the car, or the house, but the two above are best, because there isn’t much else to do when in those places.

    talk out a scene, or just let it percolate. maybe what I’ve chatted over isn’t at all what can happen, but I get a sense of the characters, their ‘voice’. ideas start to flow and then somehow it all comes together.

    as for power, we were climbing the walls after 8 hours… I CANNOT FATHOM 8 days… would be the longest week of my life too!!!

  3. sallyhanan said:

    I read how one kid got out–true story–she blocked the bottom of the door, opened the curtains and then flashed S.O.S. with the light every night until she could not stay awake any longer. A local farmer noticed and called the police.

  4. I agree that (hard as it is) sometimes the best thing to do is to walk away. Take a nice stroll, take a nap. Knit. Workout.

    It’s happened to me so many times. I’ll be stressing and stressing over something that’s not right in my novel. No answer will come. But then, when I’m in the midst of doing something else- the answer pops into my head.

    I think it’s about hushing the conscious and allowing the subconscious to come forth.

  5. Do some research on how people have escaped from kidnappers then try writing a couple of different ways and see what sounds best. I’ve changed my ending a few times until I feel like I got it right and really it might all change again, who knows.

    Good luck

  6. I just write it. Whenever I’ve gotten to those points, I just write something that makes sense (cliche or not) at the time I’m writing. I figure in the revision process I’ll have a better chance of coming up with something original that still makes sense.

  7. I think that’s what I’ll end up doing–write what I had originally and fix it later. I spend way too much time over analyzing it that it’ll never get done at this rate.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

