My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Unfulfilled Dreams

There once was a time, not so long ago, when I had a great desire to become an archeologist.

Of course, I didn’t pursue this path, but sometimes I wonder where I would be now if I did. I’ve always had a passion for history, especially ancient history, and I’m easily drawn in to the documentaries on ancient cultures onΒ the History Channel or Discovery Channel (or I was…I don’t even have cable any more and I miss those shows dearly). I think history has been as much of a passion of mine as writing, and it’s probably the main reason why I write historical fiction.

Another dream of mine is the desire to travel. I would love to go to different places all over the world, or even the country for that matter. Of course, being a world traveller takes a great deal of money, which I don’t have, and my hubby doesn’t seem to share the same passion for it that I do. He has shared the desire to go to Japan someday, but honestly I doubt that will happen anytime in the next ten years, especially if kids come into the picture (which I can say now, is not a desire I have in life πŸ˜› I think the mother gene is recessive in me or at least not as strong as it is in many women).

It’s interesting how life can take you down paths that you never expected or planned for yourself.

I’m still young though, so there’s a lot left to do in life (assuming I’m supposed to live to old age). Perhaps I’ll become a novelist like I’ve dreamed about for so many years. Who knows what all will change in the coming years and where I’ll be.

Anyway, my question is this: are there any dreams of yours that are unfulfilled?

Comments on: "Unfulfilled Dreams" (8)

  1. oh my… I can’t say there are, other than to see my kids happy, but that’s not necessarily a ‘dream’, more of a hope.

    living in the UK for ten years was a dream unexpected, yet such a gift.

    I think I’ve come to the point of accepting what happens isn’t about ME, per se, just finding happiness in what comes. life out of my own hands is an interesting way to live, more faith-based than anything I know… πŸ™‚

  2. I had a lot of things I wanted to do, but then life changes and so do my priorities. I’m still sure I’ll do some of them.
    I once wanted to be an archaeologist as well, lol then I decided that everything would probably be discovered by the time I was old enough to do it (I was like, 12), I wanted to be a vet until I found out I had to put things down (I was 8 then).
    I still want to get published, and I still want to make a movie – but I know it’ll be a low budget, all on my own steam kind of movie. That’s fine by me.
    I still intend to travel, but yeah it’ll be when I’m older, or rather when the kids are older. I’d love to travel with them when they are old enough to appreciate it.
    As for the mother thing – your own children are nothing like anyone elses. Trust me!

  3. Oh I know–I’m just not ready to be a mom yet πŸ™‚

    Then again, sometimes God has different plans–I’ve learned that many times in my life.

  4. Most of them I think πŸ™‚ Mind you, traveling to another planet may be a little hard…

    Oddly enough I wanted to be an archaeologist too – when I was only five. How many five year olds would now what an archaeologist was, let alone could spell it?

    Travel would be good too – going to see all those historic places I read of as a kid.

    Of course my main dream now is to finish a book and get published – who knows, it may enable some of my other dreams?

  5. Yep. I always wonder how my life would be different. Just so you know, I didn’t really feel motherly or think about having kids a whole lot, but when I stopped taking birth control and got pregnant and had my first little kiddo, the gene lit right up. πŸ™‚
    Anyways, I would love to travel around the world, learn different languages, etc.
    Before I fell in love, I wanted to be a missionary. I still wonder sometimes where that dream may have taken me.
    But now I have new dreams that I am pursuing, which is awesome.

  6. There’s been times when I feel like I’m too old to have my dreams come true but I need to remember, you’re never too old.

  7. No dreams unfulfilled — just not filled *yet*.

    : )

    Em

  8. I’m going to echo Em here:

    Nope- no unfullfilled dreams. There are simply some dreams that haven’t come true *yet*.

    There are some dreams I let go of simply because I changed. They weren’t what I wanted for myself anymore. But if I want something…no, I never give up.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

