My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

There are many reasons why I love writing (world building, the research process, etc) but I believe my favorite aspect has to be constructing dialogue.

For me, that’s when I see my characters’ personalities come alive as their words jump from deep within my imagination to the page. It’s like they materialize before my eyes as the book progresses. Of course, they’re always there in my head, my nearly constant companions, but once their words have come out into the tangible realm of our world, they become real. Well, as real as fictional characters can be 😛

For example, I’m definitely seeing that one of my characters is incredibly harsh and cold, and this often comes out in his deeply critical remarks to my MC, Kaiyo. I must admit I enjoy writing their arguments as both of them don’t react well when provoked (and they have the uncanny ability to do that to one another quite easily). I never really realized the strain between them until their words tumbled out onto the computer screen. It’s fascinating!

I’ve read that a book should be about half dialogue, as this is how the character’s personalites are truly portrayed. I’m glad for it, since I often find myself quickly carried away with it.

I know I have to be careful with this though because a book cannot have too much dialogue, otherwise it would be a screenplay. Someone once told me I ought to try my hand at that, but I would have no clue on how to even begin 😛 That and I believe I probably have a better chance at getting my book published than getting a screenplay bought and accepted.

So, as a writer, I’m curious: do you like writing dialogue or do you find it difficult? Is there another aspect of writing you like more?

Comments on: "Dialogue: My Favorite Aspect of Writing" (8)

  1. sometimes dialogue comes easily, but it is a fine line, for too much and it feels… talky. yet, dialogue can fulfill more than just emotions, can be a handy way to spill story when you need vision outside the main POV.

    arguments are fun… 🙂 my problem is once I’ve written it, going back and making it sound real. I have a habit of leaving out contractions…

    as for the tunes, oh YES! you are not alone… 🙂

  2. I actually do like dialogue a lot, especially when it sparrs back and forth. I don’t like boring talk though. LOL Victoria Holt used to have some great arguments between her characters.
    I have trouble describing things so the reader can see them. Have to work on that.

  3. I like writing dialogue too. You never know what the character is going to say next.

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

  4. Agreed, dialogue is a lot of fun!

  5. I love writing dialogue, mostly because when I read a book I love reading it.

  6. I love dialogue too. I hate when writers just have talking heads and don’t use it to express real characterization. What a waste of space. The novel I’m hoping to shop soon is packed with action and dialogue. I’m a little worried about the lack of narrative in it because its sequel has much more. I have many scenes where characters are alone and looking for clues or whatever.

  7. I love writing dialogue. Through dialogue, not only does the story come alive, as well as the characters, but it’s the smoothest device of all for sharing information about ones characters, most definitely.

    In the evenings, I’m usually writing with my back to the television show my husband is watching, and with one ear on it, at times will remark to him, “That’s horrible writing — what an obvious info dump.”

    But it’s harder to make that mistake in dialogue, in a novel.

    I guess one could write bad dialogue, but most writers know that dialogue needs to sound natural, and many writers do it very well.

    (P.S. to Dara — You can read more about it over at my blog, but, you’ve been Meme’d!)

  8. I love reading great dialogue, but it’s actually the hardest thing for me to write. Maybe because it takes three or four revisions before I have everything fleshed out enough that the characters can finally speak to one another. All the dialogue up to then is practically placeholders for me.

    I always envy writers who have great dialogue.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

