My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

An Ending Perhaps?

Well I finally was able to come up with (most) of the last segment of the novel. It’s all jotted down in my trusty little notebook.

I had a difficult time trying to figure out the middle of the section. I had the beginning, when Kaiyo was kidnapped already written out, but I couldn’t figure out how to write what led up to the end of her captivity. I believe I have something plausible enough, though it will probably change through the editing process. Anyway, at least it’s something and I’m not at a road block any more.

I probably should have written the ending of the section, even if it was out of order. But for some reason I have a difficult time working out of sequence.

Anyway, now all I have to do is figure out how the book ends. There’s three different possiblilites but I’m not sure which one I want to go with. I may end up writing each ending and seeing how it flows or goes with the story. Perhaps my critique group can give me some advice on which ending to choose, although we won’t reach the ending for months (if not more than a year). There’s also the AW forums, and I’ve already had some help from the great writers over there in sections I got stumped at.

Oh I’m so close to ending this…I hope I can get it done in the next week or two. Unfortunately I will be unable to work on it much during the weekend as EVERY WEEKEND IN MARCH has something (friends from college days are coming up Thursday this week and staying until Monday morning; next weekend, hubby has a business trip to Virginia and my parents are coming down with my sister; the 21st is a baby shower for a family member; the last weekend, more guests are coming down to stay with us…phew! It’s making me tired just thinking about it!)

I’ll need to make time during the week if I want this first draft done this month.

Comments on: "An Ending Perhaps?" (9)

  1. I hope you get it done! There’s nothing more fun, I think, than finishing the first draft. It’s such a wonderful feeling!
    πŸ™‚
    Anyways, watch out for the sagging middle.
    And even if you don’t like your ending, you can always tweak it in edits. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m pretty certain the middle has a bit of “sagging.” I already know there’s chapters that will be deleted. But I’ll worry about it during the editing process.

  3. I have to write in sequence as well. otherwise the whole thing will be completely off kilter! πŸ™‚

    hard when weekends are so busy. any time in the evenings? that’s difficult too, hubby-time… I’ll say a prayer for some open moments to find you…

  4. sallyhanan said:

    Yup, the middle of most novels starts to look like a middle-aged woman’s belly. πŸ™‚ It’s called “filler.”

  5. jeannielin said:

    Hopefully the “right” ending will come to you as you get closer. Power through!

    Nothing feels as good as writing “The End”

  6. victanguera said:

    Good for you. It must be so exciting knowing how to end it and such a relief getting past a road block.

  7. I agree with Jessica, there’s nothing better then writing that last sentence. I think I jumped up and down when I did it, although I’ve spent more time editing than I did writing book. Hopefully that was just my learning curve and the next book won’t be like that.

  8. Dara,

    Good luck as you reach the end. And I definitely agree that if you are unsure of which ending to use- write them all down. You’ll probably feel which is the correct one in the process.

  9. Good luck in your wrap up. I’m at the mid-way point in my book. It’s taking forever. I’m a slow writer. I think I should Nano-challenge myself again just to get it done.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

