My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

A Fun Writing Meme

What’s the last thing you wrote? An email here at work. Before that, my blog entry today.

Was it any good? LOL, I guess

What’s the first thing you ever wrote that you still have? A story I dictated to my mom at age 4 or 5. Technically she transcribed it but I “wrote” it

Write poetry? No. My attempts are poor at best

Do you type or write by hand? Type mostly, but much of my outline and character bios are written out by hand in whatever little notebook I have handy

Do you save everything you write? Yes, unless I think it’s garbage

Does music help you write? Yes! I often listen to movie soundtracks or songs that I think convey the theme or scene I’m writing

Do you even show people your work? I do when it’s time for critique group. But never a chapter I’ve not edited to some degree.


Do you want to write for a living? It would be nice
Have you ever written something for a magazine or newspaper? College newspaper
The last thing you’ve had published for pay? Nothing yet
Fiction Writers…

Where do you get ideas for your characters? Who knows! They just pop into my head. Most of the time it starts out with an interest in a certain time period or certain event and then I wonder “What if?” My MC for my current WiP started out completely different from who she is now, but it all started with a “what if” question about how a mixed race girl would live in 19th century Japan

Are you a Pantser or a Plotter? Plotter. I have to plot out a semi-detailed outline to see how the story progresses. It often changes when I’m in the middle of writing, but at least I have an idea of where the story is going. If I didn’t the story wouldn’t be cohesive in the slightest. It’s probably barely cohesive even with the plotting

Have you ever written sci-fi, fantasy, or horror? Not yet. I may end up trying fantasy or maybe horror, but not sci-fi. I think though my calling is historical

Ever written romance or teen angsty drama? Yes and yes. Most will never see another pair of eyes.

Genre of choice? Historical!!! But I do like a nice deep literary novel every once in awhile. Some contemporary, though I don’t find myself as interested in it as the former.

Do you favor happy endings, sad endings, or cliff-hangers? Anything with closure. I don’t like cliff hangers unless it’s a series; I don’t think it works well if it’s a stand-alone novel.


Quote something you’ve written. The first thing to pop into your mind.
My current WiP (set in 1890 in Japan); one of the verbal sparring matches between Naomi and Ryuji. It’s a bit rough.

 “They don’t see many foreigners up this far north,” Ryuji said. “Especially ones that look—“ he stopped.
 “That look as strange as me?” Naomi finished. “I am fully aware that my distinct facial features draw plenty of attention.”
 “That’s not what I meant,” Ryuji said.
 “Then what did you mean?”
 Ryuji muttered something under his breath and then spoke up. “I only meant that there aren’t many travelers that have foreign ancestry.”
 Naomi rolled her eyes. “That’s the same thing, only disguised behind a thin veil of courtesy.”
 “You are impossible, ” Ryuji said.
 “And I thought the Japanese prided themselves on their civility.” Naomi said, determined not to let him have the last word. “You have proven otherwise.”

 

Comments on: "A Fun Writing Meme" (1)

  1. Do you type or write by hand? …”Type mostly, but much of my outline and character bios are written out by hand in whatever little notebook I have handy.” So, in other words, you jot things down in your handy-dandy notebook? 🙂

    Thanks for playing along. You’re right. These are a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

