My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Today, I’m reflecting on Jesus’ ultimate sacrifice for us. I know I’ve been lacking in my devotion to Him. I haven’t been as faithful as I should be; I’ve been falling away slowly and I can see it’ve been a lot more tense and quick to anger lately and I have to admit that I’ve been less than enthusiastic about going to church every week.

I’ve seen this happening over the last few months…perhaps even the last couple of years and yet I keep ignoring it. I started to finally break on the drive to work today; I probably cried half of the twenty minute drive.

This verse from the song “Salt in the Snow” from The Classic Crime best describes what I’m feeling (it’s probably one of the reasons I was crying):

In this where I am for your sake,
Stuck between sleep and awake?
My mind is dreaming of things.
Are you listening? (Are you listening)?
I took you for granted again
And threw you aside
And pretended for one minute that I had control of my life,
And direction it seemed to be in
I was wrong again, (I was wrong again),
Are you listening?

Despite all of my failings, despite the fact I keep turning away, Jesus is still there, loving me through all my faults. He’s still there waiting for me to return to Him, arms wide open, ready to accept me back.

I know I’m going to continue to struggle–it’s part of life as a flawed human–but because of His sacrifice today, because of His unfailing love, He’ll always be there, a constant rock to lean upon, an ever faithful friend and Father to return to. I am the wayward child but He still loves me. And for that I’m eternally grateful.

Comments on: "Despite My Failings, I Am Still Loved" (5)

  1. determinednspoken said:

    I love what you said here…”Despite all of my failings, despite the fact I keep turning away, Jesus is still there, loving me through all my faults.”

    It’s so true. God’s grace on our life’s is amazing, isn’t it? 🙂

    have a good Easter!

  2. rjp123rjp123 said:

    GOD is everywhere.

  3. What a beautiful post Dara! I hear you on this because I’ve gone through my own valleys. Like you said, at least He is faithful. 🙂
    Have a wonderful Easter.

  4. lovely words!! wishing you a most beautiful and blessed Easter…

  5. Dara, I’ve been there & I know exactly what you’re talking about. I’m a bit older than you and I can testify that I wander & stumble throughout life and I am SO in awe of His faithfulness & love. So humbled that He’s always waiting with open arms. Ah, what wretched sinners we are…..carry on, sister. Fight the good fight!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

