My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Completely Taken Over

Another story came to me today. Rather suddenly actually. Once it came, I couldn’t race fast enough to a Word doc to type the summary out.

A historical paranormal/fantasy based off the legendary Yuki-onna.

This will be something rather different for me.  I’ve never written fantasy before, although this is probably still more historical based with paranormal elements. It’s mostly based on myth but there’s definite historical aspects to it too.

 

Traditional Image of Yuki-onna

Traditional Image of Yuki-onna

I think it stemmed form me reading all these Japanese myths lately and this one really inspired me. Mostly I wondered about how such a creature came about–and then I came up with an entire backstory for her.

Modern Portrayal of Yuki-onna

Modern Portrayal of Yuki-onna

It’s going to be loosely based off some of the myths about her and have some aspects from the story in Lafcadio Hearn’s Kwaiden.  

I’m uber excited about starting this project, but I can’t do too much of it just yet. I still have to finish my other book too–I don’t want to put that one completely aside. Anyway I at least have something to work on when I get a little discouraged with my other one. 🙂

Comments on: "Completely Taken Over" (5)

  1. This is a very haunting story. It would be interesting to see what you make of it!

  2. I’m excited about it! I have to do a lot more research on the myths of Yuki-onna too, as well as some historical elements, but I really got the bulk of the summary for the story down.

    Still I gotta make sure I don’t forget about my other novel too–which is hard when I’m completely taken over by forming the ideas for this one 😛

  3. just the coolest thing when an idea pops in and takes over!!! 🙂

  4. I love when ideas come and you can totally picture the whole plot, characters, everything.

  5. So awesome for you. Go with it whenever that burst of thoughts comes to your brain and fingers. That’s pure passion coming through.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

