My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

I keep meaning to update more, but I can never seem to think of anything to write about. 😦

Anyway, switching gears. I had a nice little excursion yesterday to my local bookstore. It’s a small branch-off store from the Books-A-Million chain (our local stores are called Books & Co.) but it still retains that local bookstore feeling with friendly staff and a cozier atmosphere.  It’s within walking distance from my house (1.2 miles according to Google maps) and I can’t believe yesterday was only the second time I’ve been to that particular bookstore  in the year we’ve lived in our house.

The walk was refreshing; I ventured out near 8 p.m. at a suggestion from the hubby. I was hesitant at first because I didn’t want to walk home in the dark but he said he’d come and pick me up when I was ready (what a sweetheart :)). It took me exactly twenty minutes to get there, and I realized I probably should’ve put on better walking shoes–ballet flats are not meant for walks like that 😛

I realized I could easily get lost in there…lol. It doesn’t look big from the entrance but in reality there’s all these small nooks that branch off from the main aisle, all dotted with big, comfy armchairs. And the store was relatively empty, being after 8 on a weekday. It was almost like I had the whole store to myself!

I meandered around, picking up some of the books that I’ve marked down in my summer reading list (and wanting desperately to buy a few of them, especially Lisa See’s new novel). I even found Radiant Darkness, hiding away behind a few other books in the teen section. I was *this close* to picking it up but I realized I’d already spent a small chunk of money on a new purse I bought earlier, so back down it went. Sigh.

I spent a significant amount of time in an armchair with a travel guide to Japan, wishing that I was going there in real life instead of my imagination. Maybe someday.

I did end up buying something: the latest issue of Writer’s Digest magazine. There’s a list of the 101 Best Websites for Writers, and wouldn’t you know it, all of the agent blogs they mentioned I visit daily 🙂 There were lots of others sites on there, from critique groups to sites on publishing in general.

After my little excursion yesterday, I’ve made a promise to myself to try and venture there often, not only for the physical exercise but for the pure joy of just being surrounded by all the books 🙂 Even though the book switch to digital form, I have to admit that there’s some sort of joy lost with just downloading a book onto a Kindle or Sony Reader. I truly hope that the brick and mortar stores don’t completely disappear. Not to say that the eBooks don’t have their good sides; I’m just hoping that eBooks don’t completely take over.

For now, I’ll revel in having a bookstore so close. 🙂

Comments on: "For the Love of Neighborhood Bookstores" (4)

  1. I had a similar experience one evening in Downtown San Diego. I had a good four hours to go exploring and I walked from our ballpark to Sea Port Village in stylin’ yellow flats where one of my favorite reading/writing/drinking coffee spots is located. One of the best solitary moments.

    justalittlepiece.wordpress.com

  2. I like hearing about your life, so, as long as you’re alive, winks, there’s lots to write about, in a slice-of-life kind of way.

    Your adventure sounds like pure heaven, along with the bookstore, and having one so close to your house!

    You are toooooo lucky.

    Interesting that ballet flats are so in right now. I used to wear them in my twenties, although I was the only one I knew who did.

    Have to say I cringed at the thought of walking anywhere far in them. Youch.

    Em

  3. Oh to have time to spend in a book store and not feel like you need to get home. Sounds like a good night.

  4. My last place had a little used bookstore within walking distance. It was tucked away where no one would find it unless they knew it was there, but still people came. They had collected so many customers over the years.

    Oh, and they had a little one-eyed cat they had rescued that sauntered about the shop. I think all good used bookstores have resident cats.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

