My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Confessions of a Geek

I won’t deny it–I’m a geek. 😛

I’ve been a geek since, well…forever. I may not be the typical stereotype of one, but I definitely like to do things that would be considered, well, geeky.

Given a choice, I’d much rather watch an interesting history documentary over much of the stuff that’s on TV now. I’ve spent hours on Hulu watching PBS documentaries (a huge fan of PBS History Detectives!) as well as some other random ones I’ll find.

I’m also a big anime fan, thanks in part to my husband and my little sister, who have been anime fans for FAR longer. Some of my favorites: Mushishi, which is based heavily on Japanese mythology, folklore, and the supernatural (plus there’s a bit of historical flavor to it, which I love), Kin’iro no Corda: Primo Passo, which is about a high school girl who finds a magical violin–with of course a group of wildly talented and handsome young men who all begin to fall for her–the typical shojo setup 😛 (silly sounding, but the show has amazing music and storylines), and the older Rurouni Kenshin, about former wandering samurai in the Meiji era .There’s one I’m anxious to see that’s a fantasy-type setting based on ancient China called Saiunkoku Monogatari. I’ve already seen the intro on YouTube and read a little about it and I really can’t wait to see it 😛

And then I found an Kawaii-Radio, an online radio station my sister and I used to listen to while we worked at our internship. It plays J-Pop and J-Rock–another little obsession of mine 🙂 I like this station ’cause you can request songs (one every 45 minutes). Some of the stuff is a little…um, odd or annoying, but that’s like any music now.

I know everyone has an inner geek. What are some of the “geeky” things you like to do?

Comments on: "Confessions of a Geek" (6)

  1. I listen to way more talk radio than I ever used to.

  2. I don’t know, but I’ve been called nerdy plenty of times. 🙂 Not sure if I count as a geek, since I def. like some reality shows. LOL

  3. TLC, Discovery Channel, History Channel, Animal Planet, that sort of stuff. 🙂

  4. When I was in college (okay, it was a year ago), I played Dungeons and Dragons.

    Seriously.

    Then I also like certain video games–Neverwinter Nights, Mass Effect, Harvest Moon. Anything made by Bioware (the last is not made by them). I also play pokemon on my DS occasionally, though mostly my DS acts as my electronic dictionary/study tool.

    I love reading about politics, but non-fiction books are way expensive.

    I read excessive amounts of young adult fantasy and science fiction (just ordered three more off Amazon! The Forest of Hands and Teeth, Catching Fire, and The Shifter (The Pain Merchants).)

    I would consider myself pretty geeky even though, apparently, I don’t outwardly look like it.

    • Oh yeah…forgot about the RP gaming–yeah I’ve done that too. Not D & D but a Marvel themed superhero game. Hubby plays D & D and I’ve gone to a few sessions. They want me to join in on the next chapter 😛 Still deciding…

      Currently obsessed with Harvest Moon on the old N6! Hubby has played all those games you’ve mentioned. He’s a big WoW addict though.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

