My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

A Little Depressed

Today I’m in one of those blah moods.ย  I’m depressed and easily irritated. I’m not going to blame it on the change of weather because I love the fall and the relief it brings. Sure, today’s been a bit on the cloudy side but there hasn’t been any rain or anything.

I think it’s a mix of things really. Part of it came from reading the silly alumni magazine from my university. Reading about what graduates are doing with their degrees depressed me, probably because my degree really hasn’t gotten me any where. The job I have now I probably could’ve done fresh out of high school. Not gonna lie–some times I really identify with Pam from The Office (at least in the earlier seasons) in her receptionist job. ๐Ÿ˜› The quote that really stands out for me was where she said (I believe it was in season 1) that it’s not many little girl’s dream to be a receptionist. I can identify with that!

Still, I am glad where I am. I’m married to a wonderful guy and that beats having an outstanding career–at least in my book. But I can’t helpย  but get a little down in the dumps seeing where I’m at career-wise sometimes.

I know, I know I need to work on my book. It would be nice if I could get it to the point where I could be querying agents this time next year. I just have to motivate myself to work hard on it and perfect it to the point that it can be deemed readable to agents ๐Ÿ™‚

Sorry for such a depressing post; I guess it’s just something that I’m feeling right now.ย  Hoping tomorrow is a better day ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments on: "A Little Depressed" (8)

  1. Welcome to the club. You know, this really NEEDS a club name. We should think of one. The Giddy Receptionists or some such. Because we LIVE to be glorified Girl Fridays, Secretaries, Executive Assistants and Data Entry Zombies, don’t we?
    Thought so.
    My favorite job description was provided by a friend of mine: A trained monkey could do my job.
    I have to remember, it IS my job. It is NOT my career and if I want writing to be my career, I need to write more. ;D
    But, yeah. I get where you’re coming from. Totally. Get it.
    Vic, The Trained Monkey

  2. Victoria: I’d totally join that club as I am a giddy receptionist who plugs away at the computer day after day, with nothing to show for it.

    I was totally thinking this the other day, that I need a career instead of just a job. Of course I only came up with one answer, writer, but who knows if that will happen.

    I just keep trying to remind myself that I have a family, a husband and a home, which my job helps support.

  3. Well at least you have a degree! LOL I feel sad sometimes that I’m 26 with no degree. *sigh* But you’re smart to look at what you do have. Many women would love to have an awesome husband.

  4. I love my job. (Though it is just a job–can only work for five years on the JET Programme.) And I’ve chosen a career that’s going to make it very difficult to meet/marry someone (the Foreign Service). I can’t regret it now because I still feel too young to want to be married and popping out babies, but in 10 years well… I may not feel the same way.

    That also depends on me successfully entering said career, though.

  5. You and me both, Patti!
    Jessica, I do have a great husband and daughter and a home with a lot of promise for inventive decor sometime in the future. Right now, I’m happy when each day ends with my husband still employed. All that said, I’d still love to be able to consider my writing as my career and job. ;D
    K, enjoy this time. It’s unlikely to come again, so TAKE NOTES. LOL

  6. A little venting isn’t a bad thing. Hope you are feeling better!

  7. Thanks, all, for the comments! Victoria and Patti, I didn’t know you were secretaries (or “admin assistants” as my company calls us) too! It’s nice to see I’m not the only one who really longs for something that could be called a career. Let’s aim for that dream of being published authors!

    K, my sister was thinking about doing the JET programme after she graduates. She’s still uncertain but it was something on her list to look into. And I agree with Victoria–take the time to enjoy being single ๐Ÿ™‚ People are ready to marry at different ages so don’t rush it!

    I’m feeling slightly better today–those moods of slight depression come and go. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I’m so glad, Dara! I hate it when I slide into those funks. They’re not fun and sometimes darn hard to slide out of. Take care!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

