My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

I’m joining a Dungeons and Dragons game πŸ˜›

Hubby and a friend of ours have been trying to get me to join. I’ve been to a few sessions when hubby played and I was just there to hang out. It was fun following the storyline. Tonight they start a new chapter and my character will be introduced.

I spent the last day or two coming up with my character’s name and personality. It was very similar to coming up with characters for a book!Β  Perhaps that’s why D & D appeals to me; it is very similar to writing (only I’m not the one “writing” the story or the world that it takes place in, only developing the character).

My character is a half-elf (chosen because I’m loosely basing her off of a character from my one WiP) with a bit of a temper. Well, at least that’s what I have–it may change. No clue what she’s going to be, as I really have no idea about the classes. Hubby has said I should be a bard or a healer of some sort. I’ll figure the rest out tonight.

Her name took me forever to figure out. Since she’s part elf, I decided to give her an Elvish name. Yeah, good luck trying to find one that is even remotely easy to pronounce πŸ˜› But I came up with Ellethwen as her first name (hubby says he’s gonna call her “Lethy”, lol).Β  I still haven’t really decided on a last name for her (some choices are Autumnfire, Amarathar, Eveningfall and Lightshiver) but I figure I can get the D & D veterans to help me tonight.

Anyway, tomorrow morning I go to my sis-in-law’s beauty institute to have her dye my hair. I’m going brunette πŸ™‚ I’ve got one of those hair colors that is naturally somewhere between blonde and brown, often called dirty blonde or dishwater blonde (which both sound disgusting to me ). I’ll at least be brunette for a few weeksΒ  before the stuff fades away.

Oh and IΒ  believe hubby and I will go out to eat sometime in celebration of our two year anniversary, which is on the 13th. Not sure where though.

What are everyone else’s plans for the weekend?

Comments on: "If I Wasn’t Geeky Enough Already…" (8)

  1. I’ve always wanted to play Dungeons & Dragons! But I never knew anyone who was really into it, so it’s never happened. It does sound like so much fun, though.

    Have a good time for your anniversary! It’s Thanksgiving here in Canada so I’ll be eating turkey πŸ™‚

  2. Happy Anniversary!

    I hear you on the hair. Mine is the same, though yours looks a little blonder in your pic. But when I dyed mine brown I was so happy! Hope you enjoy the new look. πŸ™‚

  3. I love love love D&D! I had a great time casually playing with my friends in college–they were much more serious about it than me. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. And they’ll have fun with a girl in the group (that’s rare). πŸ™‚

    • It’s funny because the group I play with, everyone who plays is married! The current group has two girls in it, but I’d say it’s pretty evenly made up πŸ™‚ Phil and I are also the youngest at 25; the rest of the group are in their early 30s.

  4. Happy anniversary! Wait, so are you going brunette for the game for your anniversary or just because? In any case, it sounds fun.

    Have fun role-playinig and avoid the ogres.

    • LOL, Going brunette just because πŸ™‚ My character in the game has raven black hair, which would look really odd on my skin tone!

      BTW it came out great! Sis-in-law really knows her stuff πŸ™‚

  5. Congrats on the anniversary and I think you look gorgeous! Hopefully you are now beating the tar out of your D&D compatriots. LOL Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

