My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Writer’s Ego

Well, I didn’t final in the first pargraph contest, but that’s perfectly fine with me πŸ™‚ The ones that did semi-final and final are truly awesome so I suggest you go to Nathan’s blog and check it out!

Anyway, I have to admit that I’m finding my writer’s ego inflating. It’s not a bad thing per se, but I want to keep it in check so I don’t become too proud. I think much of it has to do with the comments I seem to be getting on a daily basis over at the NaNo forums. I started a thread over there about making mock book trailers and it seems to be quite popular now (5 pages of comments last I checked). I think that starting the thread is what’s making me get the daily NaNoMail comments about how much everyone wants to read my book πŸ˜›

I’m glad I started that thread because it at least makes me see that there could be a market for a historical fantasy based in Japanese mythology. (Also glad that it’s really inspiring people to want to write!) Of course that may not be an accurate representation of the market, but it’s nice to see the comments. It’s really helping me stay more focused on my novel as opposed to the last few years.

I’ve always been self conscious about my writing (what writer hasn’t?) and sometimes I don’t think I’m ever going to be talented enough to get an agent, let alone get published. I know I shouldn’t be thinking this, but I tend to be an negative person by nature, unfortunately, so it’s hard for me to break that mindset. But the comments are really helping me break that perception I have of my writing.

Of course I know I still have a lot to learn and a great deal of crafting to do. I’m still searching for my writer’s voice–not quite sure I’ve found it just yet–and I should be reading up on the craft a little more.

Β Perhaps my dream is not as far off as I once thought. πŸ™‚

Comments on: "Writer’s Ego" (7)

  1. Don’t worry Dara. πŸ™‚ I’m a practical, sometimes optimistic person by nature and I still feel that way about my writing too. I think everyone does.
    Go you on the mock trailer thingy! I need to try to work more on mine. It’s so fun and a great way to really narrow down what our stories are about. I think there is a market for what you write, it just needs to be tapped. (and don’t ask me how that’s done, lol) But I think about all the fighting movies out and I think people would be interested in reading about some Japanese paranormal stuff.

  2. You just have to keep believing you can do it and I love your idea for your book.

  3. Dee Yoder said:

    It’s good to read your positive comments about your book! And, the post you did last year at FW about making mock front covers inspired me to make one, and that kept me going through the drudgery of those middle weeks of NaNo, so yes, you DO inspire other writers with your posts. Thanks, Dara!

    Only a few more days now, until we’re off and running with another NaNo!

  4. Hey, Dara. Can you give me any words of wisdom on creating a book trailer? I’d love any ideas you can suggest.

  5. It’s wonderful how motivating NaNo is. I have a weakness for spending hours making book trailers.

    The dream is closer with every word you write. No one can dispute that. Good luck with Nano!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

