My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

A Little More than a Week

Imagination Rain

A week from this Sunday is the beginning of NaNoWriMo 2009.

I’ll be spending six hours in the car that day. πŸ˜› Phil and I will be visiting friends in West Virginia, who just finished building their new house. We haven’t seen them in awhile so I’m excited to visit. A little sad that I’ll be in the car so long on the first day of NaNo–and my 25th birthday–but such is life.

I’ve decided I’ll either stay up late getting my word count in or get up early–or both. I may try to type some in the car, but motion sickness probably will prevent me from doing that for too long, as well as the fact that my laptop battery lasts about 30 minutes before dying.

It’ll all work out though. I’ll get my word count in that day if it means losing a few hours of sleep.

I’m aiming for a daily count of 3000 words. If I do that, I should be able to finish my first draft in the month. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to do that, as I tend to get incredibly unfocused around the 2200-2300 mark. We’ll see!

I’m also a co-ML for the Dayton region for NaNoWriMo. I met with our area ML last night (who’s also part of our critique group–essentially it was a critique group meeting sans critique) and we planned out where we’ll have our write-ins for the month. I called Books and Company, a local bookstore, to see if we can set up some write-ins there, but I had to leave a message for the person who coordinates that. Not sure if we’ll be able to get any scheduled times or not since it’s a little late, but we’ll try.

Also figured out that I’ll probably be an ML for the area next year as our current one is being relocated to L.A. in late December/January. There are a couple of others that can help me next year too…at least I hope so!

Anyway, if you’re participating in NaNo, are you prepared for it to begin? Do you plan on attending any write-ins? I’m curious πŸ™‚

Comments on: "A Little More than a Week" (14)

  1. bigwords88 said:

    I may not do any write-ins, but I do intend to get started as soon as the clock hits midnight. The thought of hitting five or six thousand words in the first day is really appealing, and it may encourage others to start typing (or actually writing – pen and paper stylee) as soon as possible. Being in a bookstore and trying to write would be an excercise in futility, as I would be constantly distracted by all of the books I don’t have and really want.

  2. Hmmmm, 3k a day is not too bad. I bet you can do it! I hate that typing in the car makes me car sick too! It’s so annoying. All that time wasted. LOL

    I hope you have a ton of fun and a great birthday!

  3. I’ve tried writing in the car as well, doesn’t work so well. I’d probably stay up like. When the clock strikes midnight go at it for an hour. Sleeping in the car is something I can do.

  4. Wow girl, my goal is more like: finish a story during NANO~

    Dayton as in Dayton Ohio or Florida?

    • Dayton, Ohio.

      And I don’t know if I can finish the first draft–the last two years I hit the 50K mark but never really finished it (actually both years were the same story but two halves of it). If I don’t finish the first draft, I’ve given myself another month. My goal is to have the first draft completely finished by the beginning of the new year.

  5. Ever since I found out about NaNoWriMo about a week ago, I’ve been debating whether to do it or not. The idea appeals to me, but there are three things for me to consider as well: whether I will have the time (as I am a college student), my difficulty writing fiction, and (perhaps most of all) worry about my writing quality. It’s not that I think I can afford to be a perfectionist about a story that long, it’s the fact that I read (on wikihow) that doing NaNoWriMo can hinder the quality of all your writing for a while because the concern of quantity over quality in the story will change the way you think about your writing. That scares me! Especially as I am in Composition II class and don’t want my grade to suffer.
    Whoops, now I’ve gone on quite a bit about myself! Just wanted to share my thoughts.
    Can you help me decide? πŸ™‚ (That’s mostly a joke…unless you really can!)

    • It’s possible to do while in college. My younger sister did it last year in her junior year AND managed to beat me word count wise most of the time (we had word wars and every time but once she beat me!).

      I don’t think it can hinder the quality of your writing. I know some people make it more about quantity, but I’m some where in the middle. I could probably crank out 90K or more in a month if I wrote utter drivel, but I still hit backspace a lot and I still have to think about what I’m writing. Sure, I may be a little slower at it, but the ultimate goal is to get published (for me anyway) and writing utter nonsense just to hit word count creates more work for me.

      You know, lots of others use it as a time to just write as much as they can, whether that’s 10K of quality words or whatever. You can use it as a way to practice and hone your Composition skills for class. There’s no NaNo police to come and tell you you’re doing it wrong πŸ™‚

      Just give it a try. If anything you’ll have a few hundred or thousand words of a story, even if it doesn’t go anywhere right now. πŸ™‚

  6. I hadn’t realized that November was a week away from Sunday! I’d been feeling prepared until that hit me. It’s going to be a very busy week this week, I think.

  7. Mostly prepared. As I work on a desktop, if I go to a write-in, I’ll probably be plotting something for a future story.

    I love hearing you’re a co-ML!!! Your enthusiasm is fantastic!!

  8. (new comment on my last post.) πŸ™‚

  9. I plan to start right at midnight. I love all the excitement that NaNo brings this time of year. πŸ™‚

  10. Having Write-Ins at bookstores is a great idea! And also so motivating with all those books around.

    I’m getting excited just seeing everyone gear up. Just think, the next big bestseller could very well be written in next month’s deluge. What a wonderful thought!

  11. I saw your comments on Rachelle Gardner’s blog about writing international fiction and am wondering if you’re interested in this group: http://www.facebook.com/vcomer#/pages/International-Christian-Fiction-Writers/152947207589 We’re just getting things rolling starting a blog to gain awareness for novels set outside the USA.

  12. J.L. Campbell said:

    Don’t even know a real live person doing NaNo where I am. πŸ™‚
    I’ll be working on November 1, so starting will be a challenge, but we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

