My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

typing-jpg

I’m officially past the 20K mark at 21,367. Very, very soon I’ll be hitting the halfway point šŸ™‚

I also have to say that engaging in word wars with a fellow writer during this time is especially great for getting the story out and duct taping that inner editor’s mouth shut–at least for a short period of time. I generally engage in one of these battles once or twice a week with my younger sister who is also taking part in NaNo.

What is a word war? Well, you pretty much see who can write the most in a given period of time. Sis and I generally do half hour increments, though sometimes they are a little longer (we always specify the ending time during our phone call). The moment we hang up, we type as fast as the fingers can carry us.

The first word war I beat my sister with a count of a little more than 1100. Yes, 1100 in 30 minutes IS possible (I triple checked it). This time around, sis won with a total of 1400 (I had a little less than 1000). We battled for about 40 minutes. Getting a high word count in a short amount of time is certainly possible if you’re willing to be a little mean to that inner editor of yours.

Comments on: "Obligatory NaNo Update and Word Wars" (5)

  1. You gals are hardcore. I bow in your presence. 1400 words?? I’m still blown away…

    • I’m often amazed my fingers can keep up with my brain…much of that though will probably get significantly edited down when the time comes.

  2. Great word count!! šŸ™‚

  3. Its times like that where it pays to have taken a typing class. Can you imagine writing with just two fingers.

  4. WOW.

    And that’s all I have to say. lol

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

