My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

I Want to Pull My Hair Out…

Warning: Massive rant ahead about my rough draft. If you should continue reading, consider yourself sufficiently warned.

As I get farther and farther along in my first draft, more and more questions around the storyline keep popping up as I’m writing.

And I’m beginning to feel a great deal like this woman below…hairpull23

I’ve been assaulted by so many questions that I’ve had to make a running list of them. I keep changing things so that the story really doesn’t flow at all from the beginning to the current chapter (most important one being the fact the entire village and family that my MC is staying with is highly hesitant towards her, thinking she may be some sort of supernatural creature–which she is. Of course she has to try and convince them that she isn’t in order to be trusted).

That’s going to be an editing nightmare.

I had to add a minor subplot because I had to give the antagonist some more depth to her character.  I use “antagonist” loosely because while she’s a threat, she’s not a significant one–the main one is my MC’s own nature–you know the whole, man vs. self thing. Still, she’s a thorn in Miyuki’s side.

I’m also shifting around some village hierarchy and may be putting Miyuki in the village headman’s family–the village headman currently being her love interest (and still rather new in the position since his father was killed by her that winter before). If that’s the case I need to see if that meant they had servants and whatnot.

Considering this is a small (like less than 200 people small) village, they probably wouldn’t have been much higher than the surrounding countrymen; they also would’ve still been in the same caste, even if they were “higher end” farmers. Caste system in feudal Japan was very strict and to limit my research woes, that’s why I’m placing all the characters in the farmer’s caste as well as setting it in a small enough village where I don’t really have to worry about samurai and any other higher castes.

Of course that’s the plan now; the way this book is going, it could be completely different by the end.

I know, I know, I shouldn’t worry about it–just keep writing through it. But sometimes all the changes are hard to keep up with! And it’s scaring me to think about what I’ll have to deal with after the first draft is all done…

Comments on: "I Want to Pull My Hair Out…" (6)

  1. Well, I wouldn’t call that a rant. I’d call that a good, dictionary style description of the words “Rough Draft”.

    When I first started my noveling blog (Shameless plug: Go read Uninvoked and leave a comment! Support Authors! Make me less lonely!) it was a NaNoWriMo rough draft.

    Yes, it is much worse than a regular rough draft.

    Even after putting the scenes more or less in the right order, the villain changed 3 times, a certain side character changed names twice (am still eradicating name changes) and one person died and was resurrected 3 separate ways. None of which were supposed to happen…

    Even as I continue to post it up (you did read my shameless self promotion to go read, right? It’s only 18 widdle chapters so far….teensy lil chapters…) I’m still finding drastic changes that need to be made.

    And to make matters worse (I’m embarrassed, really.) I started the Donald Maass workbook, and yet more drastic changes need to be made!

    Take heart though. After rough draft, it can hardly get worse, right?

    Riiiiight?

  2. Sorry your book is being fickle 😦 I don’t like when books are fickle. But after all the hair-pulling-out and editing-nightmare-ness, a great book usually pops out. Thus, it is worth it. Keep on keeping on, darlin’!

    • Thanks! I’m still going, although today I’m done with only 700 something words 😛

      I won’t give up; just need to take a little break here and there. 🙂 And complain/vent about it.

  3. Oh I’ve had that and it is so frustrating! Just go with the flow. There is a reason for these challenges. Get the words out and you can think about editing later…

  4. It’s very hard work isn’t it? It will be fine, though, I’m quite sure…

  5. Whoa!! LOL
    Don’t worry, things will come together. You’re smart to write your questions/thoughts down now.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

