My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

So, I’m just realizing that today is actually the start of December. πŸ˜›

November seriously went by faster than I could blink. It seems like it just started, and that I was preparing for NaNo and all the write-ins. Now it’s all over. I’m always a little sad at the end of NaNo–it’s something I look forward to for months and then it’s all over so quickly. But that’s always how it goes with anything you’re looking forward to–it comes and goes so quickly that you hardly realize what happened.

Anyway, now that NaNo is over and I’ve reached my 50K goal, there’s another one I have yet to meet: finishing the first draft. By January 1st.

It should be easy for me after last month, yet I always have an incredibly hard time continuing the writing spree after November 30th. The last two years I’ve failed miserably at this, always coming up with excuses as to why I couldn’t finish the draft. I can already feel the excuses attempting to materialize in the back of my head, but I’m doing my best to try and vanquish them before they take hold.

I believe the biggest obstacle I have throughout the year in writing is keeping myself motivated and accountable. So, a big favor to ask of my loyal readers–help keep me accountable. Ask how I’m doing writing-wise and if I refuse to answer, keep badgering me about it. I know writing is supposed to be a “solitary” profession–at least that’s what many say–but I thrive under people holding me accountable. If it’s left up to me, I guarantee I will fail. Every. Single. Time.

Perhaps I’m weak in that sense, or maybe I’m just more of a people person than I originally thought–or a combination of both. But it’s who I am, so I should embrace it πŸ™‚

Anyway, I’m going to try and write at least 1K today. I’ll definitely let everyone know if I met that goal–or failed–tomorrow.

Comments on: "Post-NaNo and All That Follows…" (14)

  1. Writing, solitary? Psh. Why do you think there’s usually a huge acknowledgments section in books?

    You can do it! And congrats on winning NaNo; super impressive πŸ™‚

  2. I’m the same way with writing. Go good, then flounder.

    Get on it, girl! That’s what we’re here for, to help each other. πŸ™‚

  3. Congrats of winning Nano. That’s awesome. it’s my goal to finish my MS by the end of the year too. Hopefully a little sooner, so I can pick up one of my other ideas.

  4. It’s absolutely awesome that you were a Nano winner. Now, if I may make a suggestion? Edit something else. Let it sit for AT LEAST six weeks. Then return to it. You’ll be rejuvenated and excited about the prospects instead of nauseated and tired. I let my current ms rest for a year (mostly because I couldn’t bear the thought of it), but when I returned I really could see its strengths and weaknesses. I re-wrote the sucker in half the time the first draft took and since then I’ve re-written more times than I can count without ever needing or wanting a break. I promise, if you take time off now you won’t regret it later.
    Write something else. Edit something else. Heck, do another Nano month if you feel like it. Or a Nano month of poetry. LOL Write a poem every day for a month. Do something different and unique, but let this perculate.
    Best luck and I’ve got a book review FOR YOU on my blog if you didn’t have time to check it out in last month’s insanity. πŸ™‚

    • I plan on doing that after I can finish the first draft. The last two years I waited a month before going back to finish my last book–and it’s still not done πŸ˜› I never could get back the creative spark. It’s still there, and I do still plan on finishing that one.

      Once the first draft is done though, I am going to take a break. I’ll probably do a little research for it and try working on a series of short stories that I thought about last night just before I went to sleep πŸ™‚

  5. Right now you are playing video games and not writing. You better hop to!

  6. Gina Logue said:

    Hi Dara,
    Congratulations for reaching your 50K goal!

    I couldn’t write that fast. I wish I could.

    Gina

  7. Congrats on the finish! I totally understand the burnout after such a writing binge.

    Keep going strong! I know you can do it. I’m struggling with a draft myself that’s at the 60K mark that I need finished yesterday. Maybe we can nudge each other along.

  8. Hey, Dara. Just saw your reply and thought I’d send you this link. It’s nice because it doesn’t require any creative juices at all. In fact, leave your creativity at home. You won’t want it to get in the way. This is pure editing for the big picture and it will help you see which of your darlings to cut, which is why you want to leave your creativity at home. I’m positive it gave birth to some beautiful children! Here’s the site: http://www.cherylklein.com/id24.html. Do a control F and search for the word “TRUCK.” Cheryl Klein was the continuity editor for Harry Potter’s American versions and has since gone on to editor Elizabeth Bunce’s award winning “Curse Dark as Gold.” The woman knows her stuff. I cut 50 pages of my ms without breaking a sweat because of her TRUCKS. It was by far the best method I could have used and continues to help me now when I’m several drafts farther along. Hope it helps!

  9. You can do it! I can do it! WE CAN DO IT! Wahoo!

  10. It DID go by WAY TOO FAST! And I have to wonder if December will be the same…

    Happy writing!!!

  11. congratulations on getting to 50K, that’s a huge accomplishment. 1k a day is a good goal, good luck.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

