My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Books I Must Read!

I’ve sorely neglected my passion for reading during November. I’ve been on the hunt now for good books to read, and I’ve found a few that I’d like to actually own 🙂

The first book is more of a manga, called Shirahime-Syo: Snow Goddess Tales. There are three stories, plus the prologue and epilogue, all surrounding mystical tales of the snow and the snow goddess.  Can it be any wonder why I want this book? 😛

(Also, if you’ve seen my mock book trailer, you’ll recognize the image of the girl on the cover)

Another book that I’d like to read is more of a collection of short stories, called A Robe of Feathers  by Teresa Matsuura (whose blog you can visit here). Victoria Dixon first led me on to this one.  The short stories revolve around the blurring line of superstition and reality in Japan. I think it’ll be good for me to read to see how I can encompass that cross in my own novel.

I’ve tried to find it in the library, but none of them have it–including the ones that are through interlibrary loan throughout the state.  I’d like to get this one though for my personal collection as it has that dark fantasy/mystical feel to it–at least by the descriptions I’ve read.

Finally, I’d like to read the old classic of Pearl Buck’s called The Good Earth. It’s been one I’ve been meaning to read for awhile now, yet somehow it kept being pushed to the back of my mind. This one is set in China and follows the life of a farmer through the reign of the last emperor (early 20th century).

For one like me who claims to love Asian stories, I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to finally put this on my immediate to-be-read list.

I have lots more on the list but these are definitely the top three–at least as of the time of this blog post.

What books are on your to-be-read list?

Also, my 200th post is coming up soon. Perhaps I will have a little giveaway in celebration 🙂

Comments on: "Books I Must Read!" (5)

  1. Tons of books on my list, so many I can’t even remember them all. LOL
    I still want to read Demon: A Memoir by Tosca Lee. Also would like to get some of my fellow bloggers’ debuts, but I gotta wait for the money. I’m hoping for books for Christmas. 🙂

  2. Corra McFeydon said:

    Dead Poet’s Society, Anne Frank: Diary of a Young Girl, The Cider House Rules, The Color Purple, Sense and Sensibility, Jane Eyre, Beloved, The Other Boleyn Girl, Pride and Pregidice —

    Gone With the Wind!!

    Yep, I’m itching for some reading time.

    🙂

    • I need to try reading Gone with the Wind again–just watched the movie this week yet again 🙂

      Haven’t read Jane Eyre in awhile either…

  3. All three of these books look really interesting. My too be found and read list has gotten ridiculously long but eventually I will get to everything on it. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

