My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Writing Time!

I’m still going to try and make my self-imposed deadline of finishing the first draft of Lady of the Snow by the first of the new year even though I’ve pretty much slacked off this entire month. I figure if some writers, like the awesome Natalie Whipple, can challenge themselves to finish their first draft in less than a week, I certainly should be able to do so in two weeks. Despite the fact there’s Christmas and a sis-in-law’s wedding smack in the middle. I can do it. Right?

I’ve posted a little word count widget in the corner, so you all can see how I’m doing (and get on my case if the word count bar isn’t moving :P) I’m not sure of the *exact* word count at the end, but I’m guessing it’ll be somewhere around the 85K mark.

It’s probably a good time I’m doing this too, as all of my procrastinating outlets (a.k.a. industry blogs like Kristin NelsonBookEnds and others, as well as quite a few writing friends) are taking a blogging break from now until after the first of the year. So that means I convert my usual blog reading time to writing time. 

I have an incredibly difficult time writing much more than 2K in a day but I’m going to have to force myself to do this if I want to make the 85K mark by the 1st. Of course if the story finishes before then, I’ll be incredibly happy too, but it’s also likely that it may go a little past that and closer to the 90K range.

Can I do it? I don’t know, but I’ll give it an honest effort.

Comments on: "Writing Time!" (8)

  1. You can do it! My goal is to finish my revisions in the next too weeks. Here’s to both of us achieving our goals. Have a wonderful holiday.

  2. Best of luck! You can definitely do it!

    My goal is to write 20k and have a detailed outline for the rest of the book by the New Years: a lot less ambitious but hopefully I’ll be able to do it. :>

  3. 2K a day is quite doable. You’re a brave soul for taking this on during the Christmas season, but think about what a great gift it will be to yourself!

    I’m excited to see this book finished. Good luck!

  4. Wishing you luck with this. It will be challenging to get this done with the holidays almost here.

  5. Super! Maybe I should say that if you finish your book (or at least make it to 85K), then I’ll finish mine.

    …Just…ignore the fact that I only have about 4K or so to go.

  6. I keep meaning to tell you I LOVE that novel title:

    ‘Lady of the Snow.’

    So elegant.

    Good luck with the writing!

    (I’m also a slacker. Ha!)

  7. It’s the effort that counts!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

