My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Another Revelation

Another aspect of Lady of the Snow has changed. I’m adding more mythological creatures 🙂

Initially, the only creature of legend in my book was going to be my MC, but I’ve decided that since this is a fantasy and since I am heavily relying upon myth with her, why not add a few more otherworldy aspects? Traditional Japanese culture was very superstitious with the amount of creatures and beings that were thought to inhabit the world. I’m just going to make it real in my story’s world. At least, more real than it had been in the book initially.

I’m even thinking of transforming one of my secondary characters into a shapeshifting kitsune or fox. She’ll be a sort of guardian or messenger to Miyuki. Maybe.

I’m also thinking of adding some other less than pleasant creatures, at least in passing, like the oni, which are similar to trolls or ogres, and tengu which are monstrous bird-like spirits of the mountains and forests that sometimes are said to possess people.

I wonder–how different is this book going to look once it’s completely finished? 😛

Comments on: "Another Revelation" (6)

  1. Sounds like that would definitely add some interesting aspects. I say go for it. Best of luck.

  2. Yay for mythological creatures! Go with the kitsune, sis. It would certainly make *me* happy. 😛

  3. It’s so cool that you’re adding more Japanese mythological creatures, especially a kitsune! 😀

    Also, is Miyuki your main character’s name? If so, that’s awesome! I didn’t know that. (The MC of my current WiP is named “Yuki.”)

    • Yep, that’s her name. From what I can tell it means “beautiful snow”, depending on the kanji. It can mean other things too like “deep snow” or “beautiful happiness”.

      And yes, the kitsune will be added. Although I’m still deciding how many tails to give her (the more tails, the wiser they’re said to be–up to nine tails too!). I’m thinking she may end up playing a slightly bigger role than I thought too, but we’ll see. It’s funny how I’m coming up with these ideas nearly three quarters of the way through the book 😛

  4. Corra McFeydon said:

    Way to go with the story though. If it’s evolving it’s alive. 🙂

    ~ Corra

    from the desk of a writer

  5. I would suspect very different! I love watching how novels evolve. My first-to-be-pubbed novel has probably gone through 7-8 revisions and we’re still going to make one more minor change during page proofs! But that’s the great thing about writing — seeing what our first draft can grow up to become!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

