My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

What’s On My Reading List

My reading pile grows larger and larger every day. Just check out my “To Read” shelf on Goodreads–there’s dozens of books on there.

Many of the ones I want to read are part of the 2010 Debut Author Challenge and most haven’t been officially released yet. Also, my local libraries are having budget issues so it’s hard to find the ones that are released.

Anyway, here’s a few of the books that are at the top of my reading list. Two of these are on hold for me at the library and I’m anxious to make a trip to pick them up.

The first one is debut author Jaclyn Dolamore’s Magic Under Glass. The premise of this one intrigues me, as it’s a Steampunk-type setting. It’s a tale of love and a race against time to break a curse. It’s waiting for me at the library right now and I’m anxious to start reading it.

The next one that’s on my reading list is called Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman. I only just recently heard about this one from Lisa and Laura, but it sounds amazing. It’s about a young girl overcoming a childhood with a crazy mother; it’s set in Savannah for most of the book ( a city I’m dying to visit and may actually get the chance to see in June). It has glowing reviews all around, and it looks like an interesting read. I also found out the author is coming to my local book store on the 27th of this month, so I really want to read this before then.

The next one is a historical (my favorite genre of all!) called The Heretic Queen by Michelle Moran. I read her latest book, Cleopatra’s Daughter, and really enjoyed it and I’ve heard this one is equally as good, if not better. Set in ancient Egypt, it follows Nefertari, the niece of the famous Nefertiti. Moran has a great way of setting you right in the middle of the time period and her painstaking research is evident in what I’ve read from her. At the same time, she’s careful not to overwhelm the reader with too many details. I also love the author’s blog, History Buff, where she posts links to intriguing archological stories.

Finally, I just discovered this one today, called Alice I Have Been by Melanie Benjamin. Isn’t the cover gorgeous? That’s what caught my eye at first, as well as the title. It’s about Alice Liddell, the little girlΒ that inspired Alice in Wonderland. It follows her from childhood through adulthood and old age. It too has glowing reviews. This one is on reserve at the library for me, but there’s a waiting list for it, so it’ll probably be a few months before I get to read this one.

So there you have it: a glimpse at my reading list. Do you have an ever-growing to-be read pile like I do? What books are you looking forward to reading?

Comments on: "What’s On My Reading List" (14)

  1. Ooo, saving CeeCee Honeycutt looks interesting, and I was just in Savannah. It’s lovely! But… small. Just be prepared for that if you go. There’s a lot of museums, kitschy shops, and nice (expensive) art galleries, but not much else.

    I’m really looking forward to diving into my YA pile. I’ve got Scott Westerfield’s THE UGLIES, Suzanne Collins’ THE HUNGER GAMES, Becca Fitzpatrick’s HUSH HUSH, and Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle series. Excited about them all!

    • Small is fine by me! I love the smaller cities πŸ™‚ I’m not sure how much time would be spent there since we’re actually going down to Hilton Head Island for a wedding, but we may end up staying in Savannah and exploring the city with whatever free time we have.

      Those are good choices of books too! I’ve only read The Hunger Games, but I’ve heard great things about the others.

  2. I really need to stop reading blogs with book suggestions. My list keeps growing and growing. I’ll never get to all of them.

  3. I keep a list in my purse because I always seem to have mental blocks when I’m at the book store. I think this year might be the year to get a Chapters card.

  4. MAGIC UNDER GLASS is also one of those novels I am looking forward to pick up and read. πŸ™‚

    Next in my to-be-read pile is FIRE by Kristin Cashore, and then HUNGER GAMES and CATCHING FIRE by Suzanne Collins. I’m very much looking forward to that!

    • I’m almost halfway and I just started reading it yesterday afternoon. I probably would’ve finished it yesterday, but I had plans that night. I may finish it today. It’s really good!

  5. Magic Under Glass is really good!

  6. All those books sound fabulous! I’m going to a bookstore today for an RWA chapter meeting. I can feel my fingers itching already.

    I love reading debut authors. There’s a special freshness and hunger in first books.

  7. I have a couple by Anne Lamott, some John Irving, and I really want to reread Sophie’s Choice by William Styron. then there’s the behemoth that’s the new Stephen King, which I received for Christmas. I’ve started that one, at least! πŸ™‚

  8. My to-read pile is so embarrassingly huge…I have put myself on a book buying and borrowing diet until I get through it. BUt I hear it’s like email — you never really whittle it down because there is always another good book to read. I’m reading Adriana Trigiani’s Very Valentine now, then Lisa Schroeder’s Chasing Brooklyn, then re-reading Courtney Summers Some Girls Are and probably Season of Eden next. And then there are maybe 10 others on my Kindle and nightstand!!!

  9. Ooooh, that last one looks good!

    I’ve been to Savannah! I’d love to make it my home one day. πŸ™‚

    I’ve got so many TBRs I can’t wait to read: A Vindication of the Rights of Woman, The Pianist, Seven Years in Tibet, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, The Brontes: A Life in Letters, The Sound and the Fury, The Time Machine, Invisible Man, Moll Flanders, Girl With a Pearl Earring, Wuthering Heights – etc etc!!

    This is just a quick note to let you know I left you an award at my blog:

    from the desk of a writer

    Thanks for sharing some of your reading list!

    All the very best,
    Corra πŸ™‚

  10. How I wish I had time to read all the books on my list! I stlll haven’t read The Vagrants, by Yiyun Li, Interpreter of Maladies by Jumpha Lahiri, my friend Nina’s YA book Hold On, and so many more. I want to read more classics. I want to read more Murakami. I want to read The Book Thief and Zeitoun. Maybe I should get off the Internet and go read a book!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

