My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

I started working on my former WiP today. I’ve been unable to write much for Lady of the Snow recently; getting 500 words out is a challenge on a daily basis. But I just wrote 500 in less than twenty minutes for my other WiP. If anything, it’ll help me get the juices flowing again for Lady of the Snow, a project I desperately want to work on. Perhaps because I’m so desperate to work on it, it’s getting in the way of the story.

I’ve got such a lack of focus. It’s sad really πŸ˜›

If you’re stumbling on a project, do you divert your attention elsewhere? Does it help?

Comments on: "And the waters became still…" (5)

  1. When I begin to stumble on a project, I usually let it simmer for a little while. Letting it stew in my brain helps. But this can be tricky, because if I let my book alone for too long, I can’t get back into the swing of it.

  2. I divert my attention to reading and blogs. It isn’t really good for me to do though because I do get out of my momentum and it makes it harder to get back in the story. On the other hand, sometimes I just need to dwell on the story a bit and reassess where I’m headed.
    I hope you get back into the groove with Lady, but congrats on the wordage on your old wip. πŸ™‚

  3. Hmm…sort of the “stepping back from a problem in order to fix it” idea, right? I know I’ve done that some, but for me, I usually resort to short stories instead of separate novels. That way, I have the sense of “finishing” something. My impatience usually gets the best of me when I’m working on something longer. πŸ˜›

    Diverting your attention for a bit might not be a bad idea, though. You’ll have more of your other WiP done, at least. And the change of pace may very well help you to come back to Lady of the Snow with a refreshed mind.

    Of course, bear in mind my general lack of experience as you read my opinion. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

