My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Good Critiques

Yesterday was critique group and it was my turn. I submitted part of the first chapter of The Scarlet Daughter.  It was only 7 pages worth, since I had an unfortunate trip to the ER on Monday and didn’t have time to finish it like I wanted (long story short: I had such severe stomach cramps I thought it might be something serious like appendicitis, but it wasn’t. Probably, um…female related 😦 ).

Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised with the group’s reaction 🙂 The really liked it. Much better than the original version. And no wonder–I looked back at the original and it took forever for the actual action of the story to start. This time I actually learned something and applied it to my writing (imagine that!) and started the beginning as close to the action as possible.

There were some issues with it, being a rough draft and all, but nothing huge. Mainly more description and setting things and making sure that I don’t make Naomi too childish, at least not without a good explanation. Also, I need to make it clear why she dislikes her father so much–which I plan to do later on in the chapter.

I’m so thankful for being a part of this group. My writing’s improved a great deal since I began though it still has room for improvement. And I’ll have my crit group right there, guiding me along 🙂

Comments on: "Good Critiques" (7)

  1. Hope your writing continues to go well, and that you’re feeling better.

  2. I love my crit partner to death. Since it’s impossible for me to have a meet-up crit group (which would be wonderful) as I live…yanno…in Japan, I’m really glad I have her.

    Know that I’m slightly jealous! Take advantage. 🙂

  3. Great news on the critique group! Mine has changed me so much as a writer. I’m finding the blogging world to have a similar impact on my attitude/approach toward the craft. The writing community is so helpful!

    Hope you’re feeling batter. 🙂

    Corra

    from the desk of a writer

  4. Dara…that is so weird. I went to the ER last Wednesday for somewhat similar issues. Is something going around?

    I look back on my old writing all the time and cringe.
    It’s a great moment when you know you’ve improved. I also really like seeing the people around me in crit group improve. It gives me hope that there is method to this madness.

  5. I can’t say enough good things about critique groups. The stuff that I don’t see, someone else will be sure to find and take me to task over them, which makes for better storytelling.

  6. Yay for critique partners! I adore mine!

  7. Yay for good crit groups! And yay for them liking your story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

