My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

My Calling

A writer friend of mine and another member of our critique group brought this up to me in a message. She said I’m one of those types that views writing as my calling. I think that’s pretty accurate, although sometimes I really wonder about it…

I know I posted about this not that long ago, but it’s still on my mind. How does one know for certain what their calling in life is? Whether it’s writing, or being a doctor, or teacher or whatever else, how do you know? I don’t know that there’s a clear answer; I think it’s one of those universal questions humanity always is trying to find the answer for.

For me, as a Christian, I know that everyone’s created for a purpose. That purpose is ultimately to serve God, although much of humanity doesn’t believe that. Without getting into a huge philosophical debate, I personally believe the reason why so many people flounder around in life is because they are trying to find something to fill that “God-shaped hole”.  Even though I know this, I often try stray from the path. Anyway, please don’t take offense to that at all–it’s just my personal beliefs. But I digress.

I think it’s my feeble human nature that makes me doubt my ability sometimes. I’m forever comparing myself to others, which I know I shouldn’t do, but I still fall into that trap. I see other writers in the blogosphere whose writing far surpasses mine and I wonder if I’ll ever be good enough. I know, I know, it didn’t come easy to them, they worked hard to get there, etc. But sometimes I wonder…what if my best isn’t good enough? What if I’m never meant to be published?

Anyway, I know I shouldn’t think that, but it comes through sometimes. I know I should just focus on the writing and everything should fall into place. I need to push the doubt back. I need to overcome my weaknesses as a person and try and focus on the bigger picture. But my silly human nature takes over way too often. 😛

And I end this post with a little song. Dedicating it to my family and friends who are going through tough times.

Comments on: "My Calling" (6)

  1. As a fellow Christian, I agree with your thoughts on why so many people are floundering around. I also understand your tendency to compare yourself to others. I do it all the time. WE MUST STOP!

  2. I think you wouldn’t be human if you didn’t feel this way no matter what you choose to do with your life whether that means being a mother, wife, or writer. I think God wants us to be happy and choose the right.

  3. Stacy McKitrick said:

    I think you know it’s your calling if it’s something you enjoy doing – all parts of it (good & bad).

    I’ve gone through life wondering if I HAD a calling. Typing came easy for me, so I was a clerk-typist. Once that didn’t pay the bills, I went to college. I found accounting came easy, so I studied that. Neither one was my “calling” though.

    It’s when I finally sat down and tried to write a book that I found joy. I want to learn everything I can about it. I want to be good. I now want to be published. No job has ever given me the joy that writing has. Even if I don’t get published, I’m not stopping. If that’s not a calling, I don’t know what is.

  4. Sometimes, I don’t know that there’s ever a way to be absolutely certain about one’s calling, not in the long-term, anyway. I definitely have doubts — quite frequently — over whether or not writing is mine. It’s normal, I’d say.

    But maybe part of our problem, aside from comparing ourselves to others and having general doubt issues, is that we spend so much time trying to predict the future. It’s nice and even helpful to have dreams and plans, but there’s also a benefit to occasionally stepping back and asking, “Is this what I’m supposed to be doing NOW?” instead of always, “Is this what I’m meant to do with the rest of my life?”

  5. All I can say is a feeling of “rightness”. That your universe is in alignment. And I reckon that if in your heart you say it’s so, then it’s so. If you can’t find it within yourself to believe — then maybe it isn’t so. It’s a very Zen way of looking at things, I suppose.

  6. Oi, I wish I’d read this about a week ago, Dara! Right before I got my critique back from Weronika Janczuk would have been good.

    The fact is, God has told me in no uncertain terms throughout my life that he wants me to be a writer. I choose to hope and believe it’s because he has plans for me in that role and that I’ll be successful at it. I have doubted many times. This week, I’ve questioned the end result:
    He wants me to write, but he never promised I’d be published. Never said WHY he wants me to write. Is it only so I can help others I meet? Many wonderful things have happened in my life because I do this. I became interested in China and have traveled there twice, once to adopt my wonderful daughter. I talked briefly this afternoon with my all-time favorite author and will hopefully receive responses to my interview questions someday soon. But none of this tells me why I must suffer and learn and then re-learn. When I ask if each book will be this hard, there’s no answer. So in the end, I don’t think God gives us these dreams to make us happy. I am usually anything but. He gives us these goals to help us grow. May God help me to continue to do that – hopefully a little faster than my track record suggests. LOL

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

