My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

I have found that I am the most productive writing-wise during NaNo. Not sure why–probably because there’s an external goal I have to reach and a deadline, set by a source other than myself. I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo three times and each time I’ve reached my goal of 50K over the month.

And then November ends I have a difficult time keeping that same level of productivity–or any productivity.

Well, today, I read my good friend Jeannie Lin’s blog (like I do everyday :)) She posted about Fast Draft. Essentially, it’s completing a novel in half the time of NaNo. Each writer sets a goal for the amount of words per day they will write. Fast Draft recommends 5000, although I don’t think I’m quite capable of that many as my brain shuts down right around the 2500-3000 mark. So, I’m going to set the goal for myself to be in that range–preferably 3K each day.

I am going to start on Monday, April 12th, and go two weeks from there to Monday, April 26th. I am desperately hoping I’ll be close to the end of this draft.

During this time, I probably won’t post much except I will try to put a daily update so you know if you should get on my case or not 😛 I will try and keep up with everyone’s blogs, although my evenings are going to be taken up with writing (as that’s the best time for me).

If you are curious about Fast Draft, check out this simple article about it. And if you want to participate, great! The more the merrier!

Comments on: "Fast Draft: I Just May Lose My Sanity" (7)

  1. WOw, Fast Draft sounds intense, but awesome. Can’t wait to hear how it goes! Good luck!

    • Thanks! I don’t know how much of my sanity will be left at the end of the two weeks, but it’s worth trying 😛

  2. I’m the same way… I was able to write with a deadline that I didn’t set myself. Good luck!

  3. Glad you’re joining the fun!

  4. Ooh, that sounds difficult, but fun. Good luck!

  5. It sounds like something I might need to do as soon as I finish my rewrites. Thanks for the link.

  6. I am the exact same way; pounded it all out during NaNo & then the world came to a screeching halt. Go figure. Maybe I’ll need to look into Fast Draft to get the rest going.

    Except it seems like I’m stuck in the rewrites/editing phase. Doubtful that’ll help. Alas. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

