My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Tomorrow I take a small break from my Fast Draft madness to go to the Mad Anthony Writers Conference. It’s about an hour south of where I live and I went last year and really enjoyed it. Really looking forward to going again this year.

I’m particularly interested in the workshop about how to create evil characters when you’re a good person. That’s something that I’ve had difficulty doing in the past. I’ve been told by my crit group that my antagonists/bad guys don’t come across as evil enough and I’m not sure how to make them that way…so here’s hoping this workshop helps open my eyes πŸ™‚

I will try and update on Monday about the conference. Have a great weekend!

Comments on: "Mad Anthony Writers’ Conference" (6)

  1. Hey, Dara. Donald Maass talks about this in Writing the Breakthrough Novel. He suggests that whatever action you might be about to have your villain take, have him do (or say) something you’d NEVER do (or say). Especially if it makes you nauseous. Stretch yourself and your character grows. ;D

    • That’s what I’ve heard…it’s so hard! Thanks. I really need to get that book someday too. I’ve heard so many good things about it.

  2. Stacy McKitrick said:

    You say it’s an hour south of where you live. Same here. I’m in Dayton. You?

    And I finally ordered Writing the Breakthrough Novel. Can’t wait to get it.

    The workshop looked interesting, though. If I’d had known it existed earlier, I might have been tempted to go. Right now I’m just trying to get ready for the RT Convention.

    • I’m in Dayton too! Small world. πŸ™‚

      My mistake for not mentioning it earlier when I signed up. I’ll be sure to next year though–it happens every April; this is my second time going. I have a few friends in my crit group going to the RT conference. I wanted to go to that one too but the budget only allowed for one…

  3. I’d love to hear how that workshop goes! I have the SAME issue! My NaNo novel (& current neglected editing project) is set in Hell. While it’s a satire & fairly lighthearted, I had such a problem making evil characters – & I feel that is an intricate part of what is missing in the manuscript. I NEED that evil, despite the overall tone in the book.

    & I’m clueless. So I shall be stalking you relentlessly until I get answers πŸ˜‰

  4. Caitlynn said:

    Hmm…come to think of it, none of my villains seem all that evil, either. Considering that a good deal of my stories deal with battles between good versus evil, that could be a problem. πŸ˜› You’ll have to let me know how that workshop goes, too.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

