My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Remember that contest I won back in May on Natalie Whipple’s blog? Well, I got my prize today: a sketch of Naomi!

Absolutely wonderful:

This is the scene where she’s taking part in her arranged marriage to Ryuji. Only, the marriage is for show in order to protect her. See my post here on trial marriages and how it was viewed in rural districts in the late 1800s.

Anyway, this “trial marriage” is on top of everything else she’s had to go through: the death of her mother, leaving everything of her former life behind with no choice in the matter, as well as being even more of an outcast because of her “unconventional” heritage (an unknown Japanese father and English mother). I think Natalie captured the tumultuous emotions raging within her very well, especially in her eyes.

Thank you again to Natalie for this! This made my day. 🙂

 

 

Comments on: "A Lovely Drawing of Naomi" (8)

  1. That’s really pretty! 🙂

  2. Very cool. So pretty.

  3. Very nice. 🙂

    About the book I reviewed, there are predictable spots where I felt a little bored, but overall I liked the characters and laughed a few times, which is always good. I’m not sure if you’d like it, but if you win then you can let me know. 🙂

  4. Beautiful! She does look quite tortured — about to burst into tears. Love it 🙂

  5. Lovely! Her expression is fantastic.

    Also, nice new background! I haven’t seen it yet since I’ve been M.I.A. for the last few days!

  6. Cute! I’d love to have a picture of my characters. How cool of her. And she’s quite talented it seems!

  7. Oh, what an awesome idea for a prize! (Love your new theme!)

    – Corra

    The Victorian Heroine

  8. That is so cool! Natalie did a great job.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

