My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

A Mini-NaNo of Sorts

I’m sure you all know how I’ve been slacking once again on getting anything written as shown by my fairly stationary word count bar on right. It seems like I need some sort of outward force to push me to write. Horrible, I know–if I want to be a true writer I have to write even when I don’t feel like it, and well, I certainly haven’t been succeeding on that account.

Anyway, I found another thing to push me forward. I’m part of ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) and only through another writing friend, Lynda Schab, did I find out about their Novel Track e-loop.  Basically it’s like NaNo, only you set your own goal. You subscribe to the e-loop to keep up with others who are taking part as well as updating your words in their word counter. They do this four times a year–January, April, July and October.  And since I’m someone who needs this outward push, I jumped in. I’m hesitant about it because I’ve been feeling pretty blah about anything to do with writing, but I know I have to push past it. I think this came up at just the right time.

Even if you aren’t part of ACFW, if you’re working on a WiP, I encourage you to join me. You can set a goal for yourself as small or as large as you want. And if you’re up to it, I encourage you to send me an email daily, every few days or weekly at Dara.Sorensen@gmail.com to let me know how you’re doing. We can encourage each other to keep writing at least throughout the month of July 🙂 I know that encouragement often helps me push past me over the lazy hill to keep me going and I know it’s the same for many others too.

Comments on: "A Mini-NaNo of Sorts" (5)

  1. Caitlynn said:

    Wait, you mean there are writers who don’t need an extra push? Fascinating… 😛

    Hmm. Something like this is actually a pretty good idea, I think.

  2. I’m not sure how to sign up, but I would love to join this. I’ve just begun my WiP, and would like to give it a major push in July. 🙂

    • I think you have to be a member of ACFW but you can sign up “unofficially” if we keep each other accountable this month through emails, if you’d like 🙂

  3. Sounds like a good way to stay motivated.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

