My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Other Creative Pursuits

I know many other prospective novelists have other creative pursuits besides writing. Some draw, others are musicians and others are photographers. Me? I like working on book trailers πŸ™‚ I’m not that talented at it, but I find it helps me find more inspiration with my writing. I probably also shouldn’t spend hours on end with it, but if it gives me a renewed perspective with my book, why not?

If you’re a writer, do you pursue other creative outlets? I’m curious πŸ™‚

Comments on: "Other Creative Pursuits" (7)

  1. Yup! I used to scrapbook all the time and I need to get back to it as my daughter needs her lifebook finished. I also did a book trailer recently, but that was both a marketing AND artistic endeavour, so I felt different doing it somehow. Kinda sad, now thtat I think about it. It came out well, though. LOL

  2. I used to crochet, but just don’t have the desire to do it any more. No time. Maybe once I quit working (ha – like that will ever happen), I’ll get back into it. I know my friend would appreciate it. I have a tablecloth I started a couple of years ago that I promised to her. It’s still sitting there waiting for me to get back to it.

  3. Sketching, poetry, and I intend to learn to paint. I want to get into a bit of theater, too; I’m very verbal, and theater is pretty much what we do as writers, only silently. πŸ™‚

  4. I don’t consider myself a writer, really. I do several things, and one of those things I do is write. I also act and direct, stage and screen. Well, I’m getting back into both after a prolonged, stupid absence. I also cook. And I play with dogs.

  5. Oh, book trailers are awesome!

    I’m also an artist — leaning toward sketching, mostly. I’ve been drawing for much longer than I have writing, and for me, it’s very therapeutic.

  6. Bellydance & Bollywood — that’s where my creative energies go! Dancing it & teaching it… creating choreographies for my students is a great outlet for that restless energy. I also enjoy cross-stitching and altering clothing (though my sewing skills leave a lot to be desired at the moment…!).

    • That sounds like a lot of fun! My friends and I used to do bellydance videos in our dorm rooms in college. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

