My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

How the News Spreads

Well I definitely can’t use any more excuses about my book. More and more people keep asking me about it 😛

My family has always known about my writing and will ask me on a regular basis how it’s going. I’m incredidbly appreciative of it! My crit group also keeps on me about it and for awhile that’s how it stayed. Until recently.

Over the last month or so, church members and co-workers have started asking me about it. They like to joke with me that I’ll be famous. Ha. Being a novelist is definitely not an ticket to stardom (thankfully…I don’t think I’d like it if it was). Anyway, with all these people knowing about my writing aspirations, it’s now even more important that I work hard to achieve my goal.

A little more stressful, yes, but sometimes that’s what’s needed to keep going. A little pressure is better than none in my opinion–with none, then where’s the motivation to achieve the goal? Perhaps that’s how I’m wired; some people work better without it. Of course I don’t like an overwhelming amount of stress and expectations but it’s good to have just a little. 🙂

Comments on: "How the News Spreads" (4)

  1. I work better with that little bit of pressure, too. That’s why I do so well with NaNoWriMo…having people ask me about my noveling on an almost constant basis really pushes me forward with it. Not sure why, but it does. 😛

  2. You’ve reminded me that almost everyone at some time THINKS they should write a book. Very few sit down to try and of those, very few finish. There’s a little bit of cache around being a novelist, even if you’re not Stephen King.

    Best of luck and happy writing!

  3. Oh, goodness. I don’t work well with pressure. I do in short bursts, but then I get obstinate and want to prove to all I don’t have to write simply because they expect me to do it.

    I was getting a lot of ‘When will you be famous?’ stuff too. I don’t really care for it, though I know they meant well. It makes me feel I’ve got to prove something, and I didn’t start writing to prove something.

    Now I generally say little about my writing to anyone.

    🙂

    – Corra

    • I get some of the “when will you be famous” too, but I just smile and tell them it’s highly unlikely–publishing is not a business to find fame in, at least for the majority! Sometimes I do feel like I have to prove something, but for some odd reason, that’s what gets me going. I didn’t start writing to prove something at all, but knowing there are those waiting for me and telling me that they are proud of me no matter what, it gives me a little boost 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

