My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Editing Hurts My Brain

And my eyes too. My poor little eyes. 😛

I’m one of those writers. The kind that gets obsessive about it. I get completely sucked into the story and time passes by so quickly that I don’t even realize it until my eyes feel like they’re going to fall out.

Of course, it’s a good thing that I’m able to devote that attention to it. It’s kind of like a weird addiction…like I can’t stop thinking about changing and adding and deleting scenes to make it better. It’s easier for me to get into it compared to writing the rough draft.

Guess I’m doing it right. 🙂

Comments on: "Editing Hurts My Brain" (6)

  1. It’s good for you, kind of like Broccoli 🙂

  2. Go you!!! Edit away! Give your eyes (and brain) a little break though 🙂

  3. I think that’s why I don’t love self-editing… it takes so much time because I want to nitpick every single darn word! Ah, a necessary evil, I suppose… and in the end, the story’s better for it, so… edit away!

  4. I stay away from it for as long as possible, but once immersed, yeah, I get the eyeballs-about-to-fall-out syndrome too. 🙂

  5. I do the same thing! I get so into it that I don’t realize how much time has passed. Enjoy!

  6. Most of all, it makes my head hurt! Editing is a difficult and exhausting process, but what a great feeling to reread an edited chapter and see how much it has improved!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

