My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

The Painful Synopsis

Just thinking about writing a synopsis makes me queasy. Everytime I try to start it, I end up deleting the entire thing because it just sounds forced and boring.

But I have to keep working at it because writing an intriguing, catchy synopsis is something a writer MUST do if they even want to consider having their work published.

So I start over again, hoping that maybe this time there will be something worth saving.

Anyway, how do you conquer the synopsis beast? Any tips? 🙂

Comments on: "The Painful Synopsis" (5)

  1. Just keep writing, just keep writing.

    Having something on paper is better than having it all in your head making you crazy.

  2. Hey, Dara. I wanted to let you know, I took notes on Joanna Stampfel-Volpe’s talk on Synsopses and posted the notes at: http://ronempress.blogspot.com/2010/07/crested-butte-writers-conference-day-3.html. Hopefully it will give you some help. Good luck!

  3. I took a few classes on synopsis, and usually muddle through as best I can.
    1 brief paragraph GMC for both h/h, try to hit up the main turning points. The usual. I find I can do a really brief synopsis easier then a full long one.
    Good luck my friend!

  4. Urgh, I hate it too. No tips though. Sorry. 😦

  5. My tip is to make it a goal to write five (or ten) synopses, not one perfect one, and just write one after the other, then take all the best parts of each one and combine them. It will help silence the editor in your head as you go along. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

