My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Title Woes

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned before how I struggle with coming up titles for my WiPs. Last year for NaNo was the only exception that I came up with a rather awesome title (or at least I thought so anyway).

This year I am having the hardest time. Ive even gone and done random title generators in the hope that something comes up. The story itself is fairly simple sounding…a princess is locked away from the world by her tyrannical father and then she meets her “true love” in her dreams. Of course there’s a lot more to this–part of the story being that the two are the key in breaking her father’s hold on the kingdom and essentially the world–yet I cannot come up with anything. My sister came up with some that I’m OK with, yet I keep going back and forth between like five titles. Here’s the list, in order of how I like them:

  1. The Dreaming Princess
  2. Dream Away
  3. Dream Whispers
  4. Midnight Lullaby (don’t know if it has anything to do with the plot but I like the title)
  5. Dream Lullaby

As you can tell, they mostly have to do with dreams πŸ˜› Anyway…wondering if I’m going on the right path with this? Argh. Please let me know which title, if any, you like. I’m also willing–OK, begging really–for any suggestions.

Comments on: "Title Woes" (11)

  1. My favorite is Midnight Lullaby — it flows well and sounds very intriguing. πŸ™‚

  2. Out of the choices, I like 4 the best, as well. I would suggest:

    The Lucid Savior
    Heroes Forgotten
    Heroine of (insert your kingdom name here)
    Love Conquers Some
    Trapped in Visions
    Chained by His Majesty
    Locked by Day, Free by Night
    Come Nightfall
    What Dreams May Bring
    To Dream of Destiny

  3. LOL. I thought of a few more:

    Victory Began With a Dream
    Until the Night
    Dare to Dream
    The Visions of Princess (insert name here)

    hope you like at least one of them πŸ˜‰

  4. Love Midnight Lullaby!

  5. Midnight Lullaby sounds nice, but if it doesn’t have anything to do with the plot, then I don’t think it’s an appropriate title. I like the idea of Dream Whispers, but it doesn’t really flow. The Dreaming Princess sounds like a children’s story (sorry).

  6. Why did you ask for my help? You came up with better ones than I did…lol…Am I losing my touch? 😦 ::tears:: πŸ˜›

    I like “Midnight Lullaby,” and it could work if you end up including something about midnight in the plot. (Maybe her dream power thing is in full force at midnight?) I still think that “The Dreaming Princess” sounds the most like a traditional fairy tale title, but that probably does make it sound more childlike, too. I like the idea behind “Dream Whispers,” but it doesn’t flow as nicely as some of the others…maybe if you changed the wording around, it would work better. Something more along the lines of, “A Whisper in her Dreams” (meh…but not exactly that, because that doesn’t sound quite right either…)

  7. Wow, thanks everyone! Maybe I could make the midnight thing part of the plot…? Have to think about that. And Dream Whispers doesn’t really flow as it is now either…

    Thanks for all the suggestions too!

  8. I’m guessing there’s a lot to do with dreams? I’ll see if I can come up with a couple titles, since you came up with mine πŸ™‚

    • Yeah; that’s how she meets her prince and the only way she’s able to get beyond the castle walls.

      I even am trying my hand at writing a “prophecy” about them in the book. That’s been a huge challenge.

  9. Hmmm. I don’t know if Midnight is relevant to the plot, but I do like Midnight Lullabies. The Midnight Princess/Prince might work. It’s funny, Princess sounds more like a child’s book than Prince does. The thing I don’t like about the title is, it doesn’t imply peril. It sounds sleepy and placid. Since these aren’t nightmares, that won’t work. Prince of Midnight. Princess McGillicuddy and the Midnight Lullabies??? ARGH! Beyond the Midnight Walls at least implies a journey. It does sound intriguing!

    • I don’t think I’m going to put prince or princess in the title. But I do like that Beyond the Midnight Walls. Or at least beyond the (insert here), since she’s a captive.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

