My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

World Building

So, I’m facing a new challenge this NaNo season. As I’ve only ever written historical, or historical fantasy set in this world, I’ve never had to envision a completely different earth. Until now ๐Ÿ˜›

My NaNo project for this year is essentially set on a place similar to Earth, since I’m pretty much borrowing aspects of different cultures for my planet. But I had toย draw a map to see how the planet’s set up. I’m not an artist by any means so this proved challenging. However I did end up sketching a rough outline of the continents and some of the geological features of the main continent on notebook paper. One continent looks eerily like the Arabian peninsula although I really wasn’t planning it to look that way–it just happened. Then I have some islands that are supposed to be similar to England, with some having the ragged coastline of the Scandinavian countries.

ย Maybe I’ll go out and buy some graphing paper and attempt to make the countries a little more…realistic looking, rather than blobs on paper. But for now it works.

If you’ve ever come up with a different world, have you ever drawn maps for it or do you just view it in your brain?

BTW, I finally decided on a title. Ready….

Beyond the Dark Divide.

That may change eventually too, but I’m more satisfied with it than I was with any of the other ones I came up with.

Comments on: "World Building" (6)

  1. I’ve never written about a different world, but I see how drawing a map would be helpful. I love the new title. Very nice!

  2. That’s a great title!

    I find world building a lot of fun; sometimes frustrating, but in a good way. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. my very early writings (I started when I was 8 :D) were focused on world building for 9 years, and it is still present in my work, so that part is a piece of cake to me.
    when I was younger, I drew maps, now I just keep extensive notes about people, names and places and what was and what can`t be because of the things that were ๐Ÿ˜€
    anyway, this is still in my work, I just don`t treat it as a world building, I treat it like my everyday life I just happen to be writing about. the reader needs to be amazed, not you. to you, this stuff isn`t (shouldn`t be) new so don`t make the world too “spectacular”. unless a spectacular world is your point.

    am I confusing you? ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. OMG I’m so nervous about world building. I’m seriously thinking about getting a cartography book from my library.

    Good luck to you! Glad to know someone’s nervous about the same things I am!

  5. Great title! I can’t believe you drew a map. That’s so cool!

  6. Drawing a map is actually super important. If it’s an adventure story where they’re traveling around, then you’ll need to know for sure how long it’ll take to get from place A to B. (Make sure you have a legend!) It also reminds you what weather will be like in one area versus another. I actually had a weatherman that I know from high school take a look at my map and give me a fake forecast for each season. It was pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

