My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Short Story Markets

So, I’ve been trying to work at writing a few short stories lately, just to help exercise those writing muscles. But I wanted to look up places where I could actually submit these stories, and I’ve found a few promising ones.

Most are fantasy/sci-fi related, but I’ve just started looking. Here are some of the few promising ones:

Tor.com–I heard of this one from one of my crit group friends, who had submitted something to them. It’s for speculative fiction (fantasy, sci-fi, alternate history and anything that you think can fall into this). They accept up to 12k and will go over, but prefer that amount or slightly less. If accepted, they pay $.25 per word for the first 5K. They’re wait time though is 6-8 months and they do NOT want simultaneous submissions. So you’ll have to part with your short story baby and wait until you hear back from them πŸ™‚ Considering you can make $2000 for a 10K word story if accepted, I can wait.

Glimmer Train–This is a rather well known literary magazine. They pay pretty well too but they have monthly themes you have to follow. For example, this month is “Family Matters” or Standard.Β  If you submit in the Standard category, there is no reading/submission fee but the amount they pay you is much less. Also, this is a literary magazine so you have to craft a “literary fiction” piece. I know I’d like to try my hand at this at some point.

Solander–This is the official magazine of the Historical Novel Society, so you know I had to post this πŸ™‚ They pay $150 for accepted stories with a max of 5000 words. History has to play a major role in the story too and only two stories per year are published. Still, it’s something I’d like to try for since I’m such a history nut πŸ˜›

These are just a few I’ve found–I’m planning on buying the Writer’s Market for 2011 to look up more. Are there any good short story markets, magazines or contests you’d like to suggest?

Comments on: "Short Story Markets" (8)

  1. I have a spreadsheet that I will e-mail to you that I made up. I a hoping that most of those are still out there. They take the fantasy/sci fi/horror genres. I found out that a good way to find out other places is check out the biographies of authors that were published through the magazines. Good luck!!!

  2. Tor.com is a *great* place to be published, but they get SO many submissions…! It’s a tough one, but all of the good ones are. πŸ˜‰

  3. For Speculative Fiction markets, you can’t beat Ralan.com. The site is updated regularly and features pro, semi-pro, pay and “4-the-luv” magazine, webzine, anthology markets and more. It’s where I found the call for submissions for a short story of mine that was just accepted. (yay!) I’m in no way affiliated with the site, I just find it very, very useful. πŸ™‚

  4. Tor.com definitely sounds awesome…though, yeah, I bet it is really tough to get accepted by them. A lot of the better known ones or higher paying ones seem to be. Still, it sounds awesome all the same. πŸ˜› And Solander sounds like your cup of tea.

  5. A friend of mine is involved with this new place for shorts:

    http://smalltalesproject.blogspot.com/p/submit.html

    You might want to give it a try. Not sure what they pay or how it all works, though.

  6. Hi

    I was contacted by a German publisher who had seen one of my stories on another site… don’t be put off by the German angle – I’ve just found out their readers would love to see some English language stories. Max pay is Euro 3.00 for longer stories wiht no upper limit regarding word count and their “Short and Sweet” category of 1000w stories pays Euro 1.00 per story. Payment via paypal and you can submit as many stories as you can write – they publish a little picture with each story, so you’ll need to design your own cover for your submission. This is the site:
    http://www.my-shortstory.de – The site’s insructions are available in English. It takes approx 24 hours before stories and pictures are published and writers need to register first, but that’s free. The company behind this website are Forum Media Group GmbH, a bona fide commercial publisher with offices across the world. The stories are vetted by an editor, so you can use the publication of your story to promote yourself elsewhere.

    The site hasn’t been around for long, so there aren’t that many members as yet – but membership seems to be growing at a steady pace.

    Good Luck and thanks for all your tips.
    Maria

  7. Wow… that TOR.com site sounds amazing… and totally worth the wait!! I hope you get a story to win! And, I agree that flexing those writing muscles is always a good idea…eventually something will happen!

  8. I really don’t know, but I think subscribing to Writers Market online ends up being a lot cheaper? It’s only a couple dollars a month and has a lot of possible markets.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

