My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Officially a Mommy!

My son was born this past week 🙂 June 11th at 9:08 PM, weighing in at 8 lbs, 9 oz and measuring 20 1/4 inches long.

Ready for the birth story? Even if you aren’t, here it is anyway!

Contractions started sometime last Friday (6/10) but they didn’t get really painful–just strong and uncomfortable. I only got about an hour of sleep that night! The following morning they were strong enough to head over to the hospital just to get checked out. They measured the contractions and baby’s heart rate and my doctor was there already doing a c-section for someone else and he told me to stay. Good thing because the contractions started getting borderline painful about an hour later. I was about 5cm then and they gave me the epidural then.

Oh, the epidural…That was an experience 😛 Phil nearly passed out and had to sit down; I nearly passed out as well and threw up a bit. It worked most of the day…until the last stage. For some reason, the pain med wasn’t strong enough. They gave me two extra doses and it still didn’t help. By then the contractions were almost unbearable…I was crying through them wondering why the heck the epidural wasn’t working.

They were going to try and redo the epidural but by then I was progressing very quickly. The urge to push took over and that was pain beyond words! I wasn’t expecting to “go natural” but that’s essentially what happened. UGH.

The worst pain was near the end when he was crowning and what they call the “ring of fire” started. I won’t go into details–I think the description implies enough! My doctor almost didn’t make it to delivery too. He didn’t think it was progressing as fast as it was, especially considering I’m a first time mom. But from the time I started pushing until I gave birth was only 30 minutes,  which is almost unheard of in first timers (according to the nurses). Most women are pushing for a good hour or more if they haven’t had a baby before. But darn it, I wanted him out and it was thanks to God’s strength I was able to push through it so quickly!

Little Thomas’ weight was also a bit of a surprise because I’m quite small. The nurses were amazed he was that big and said I was all baby. again a surprise he was that big because I’m quite small. Anyway it’s definitely something to remember–and I am gonna make sure the epidural works next time. I am so not one who likes the natural way especially after experiencing it 😛

Just a few minutes old

Six days old, wearing his "muscles" shirt 🙂

Comments on: "Officially a Mommy!" (12)

  1. Congrats, dear Dara! SOOO exciting!

  2. Oh he’s gorgeous. Congratulations!

  3. Dee Yoder said:

    Oh, poor you! I wondered how that went for you because it did seem to be a fast delivery! Let me assure you, epidurals DO work. Mine worked so well, I looked at my legs as though they belonged to someone else–LOL. But a good thing for you is you seem to have fast labor. That will be good for the next time–hope your doc remembers that. If he doesn’t, remind him!

    Congratulations on your new baby boy! He is beautiful and wonderful. Enjoy each and every second you have together as his mommy! Congrats to your hubby, too. What a special Father’s Day this will be for him. ( :

  4. Wearing the muscles shirt and showing off the pecs! LOL He’s beautiful, Dara! Congratulations!!!

  5. He look absolutely adorable! Congratulations to you and your husband!

  6. AH! Congratulations! Thomas is absolutely beautiful! So happy for you! Enjoy every moment!

  7. Oh my goodness!!!! Look how beautiful he is!! I’m so happy for you. 🙂 And I went “natural” on all my kids, so I totally feel your pain. Not only that, but my first, who was 8 lbs 6oz, only took 30 minutes after I started pushing. Actually, an epidural can slow things down with the pushing because you don’t feel things down there (i’ve heard) so even though it hurt, at least it went faster. 🙂 And now it’s over and you have a wonderful, sweet baby!!! Your story is much better than mine. LOL Congrats girl!!!

  8. Congratulations!!! He looks beautiful. My epiderals didn’t work either at the end, so they had to freeze everything and I ended up with c-sections, so things could have been worse. Hope you are recovering well.

  9. DARA…. HUGE congrats. He’s so so precious!! Sounds like a crazy birth story but worth it in the end!

  10. I decided to check up on you, and here you are a mommy! Congrats on your little one. He is adorable.

  11. Well, I’m really slow at congratulating you on the birth of your son! I didn’t have drugs with either one of mine, and I didn’t have any classes with the first, but I survived. Gives you good stories to tell your children, and maybe make them feel a little guilty putting you through so much pain (I said, maybe…).

    I’m sure he’s eating up a big chunk of your time, now (as all babies do). But enjoy this time. It won’t last long. REALLY!

  12. Oh, Dara, I am just now catching up with you. He is precious!!! Definitely a keeper. Yes, we all have our own unique birth stories, which are all worthy of a good article, at least. Maybe you can find something within your story to write about. LoL.

    Congratulations, sweetie! So happy for you and Phil!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

