My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Before the Silk Road

In a remote Chinese desert, scientists have unearthed Caucasian mummies that are thousands of years old. Where did they come from?

China’s Secret Mummies

This program definitely appealed to my love of history. What was really interesting about this was the fact that a previously unnoticed group of people settled in the Tarim Basin of China, along the far western edge, around 3000 years ago. It had always been assumed that East and West had little to no contact with one another this long ago…but the mummies prove otherwise.

If you don’t want to watch the show, this Wikipedia article about the Tarim mummies pretty much sums it up.

Comments on: "Before the Silk Road" (9)

  1. I love when science discovers new things! Cool stuff.

  2. Oh wow, that’s really cool! 😀

  3. Oh, I missed this. I teach the Silk Road in my World History classes and think it’s really cool. Thanks for reminding me about this. 🙂

    • It’s still on Hulu I believe–and I don’t have cable so I LOVE Hulu for posting episodes of shows from National Geographic 🙂

  4. Ooh, craziness.

  5. Oh my gosh, that is AMAZING. Very cool.

  6. One of the very many intriguing little details that fueled my premise in Butterfly Swords. 🙂

  7. […] I had to echo this from author Dara Sorensen’s blog, Tales from the Writing Front. […]

  8. Wow. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks!

Leave a comment