My journey through the world of writing and everything that lies in between…

Write Your Rear* Off Day

*Changed over from another term 😛

Moonrat is hosting Write Your Rear*Off Day this coming weekend. It’s an 8-hour write-a-thon on which ever weekend day you choose (Friday, Saturday, Sunday and even carrying over to Monday). Each participant chooses which day is best for them and you can post a little marker on this interactive map that’s been made for this. Moonrat would also like a progress report at the end of the day, whether you spent it researching, character developing, etc., either by email or in a comment on the blog. Don’t forget to put your blog link too–Moonrat will be posting the participants on Tuesday next week.

I’m taking part because I need a kick in the rear to get me writing. I’d like to get in 3000 words that day–whether that’s for Lady of the Snow or my other WiP, The Scarlet Daughter (the one I had before LotS, whose name has recently changed for the fourth time 😛 And yes, the title is a play on The Scarlet Letter). Or maybe a combination of words done on both. We’ll see.

Comments on: "Write Your Rear* Off Day" (11)

  1. I need a kick in the rear too. I don’t think I can devote 8 hours any of those days though. Maybe I’ll pick another day and do it on my own.

    • I’m not sure I can do the whole 8 hours either but even just three or four for me will really help. You could always do that–just write for an hour or two that day.

  2. Good luck this weekend! I am contenting myself with a 20 minutes a day goal for now, but eight hours sounds wonderful.

  3. That sounds like fun! Aww…I don’t know if I’ll have time this weekend, though. Hmm. I might have to see if I can work ahead any and free up some room.

    By the way, what day are you planning on using?

    • Saturday. It’s also looking like we’re getting a moderate amount of snow Friday and Saturday, so staying in on Saturday and writing is probably a good idea 😛

  4. Oh wow, that’s intense! I’d love to join, but this weekend may be a bad time… *tries to fix schedule*

  5. I’m planning on taking part, too. I’ll see you in writing land!

  6. Stacy from Dayton said:

    Luckily for me I don’t need any motivation to write. I just love to do it. Finding time, that’s the kicker.

    So yes, it is supposed to snow this weekend. Maybe that will be a good thing afterall!

    It was nice of you to comment on my blog!

  7. Hi Dara!

    Congrats on winning a character sketch for the mini-contest! Please feel free to leave a comment with your character’s descriptions here. 🙂

  8. I’m sorry I missed this! I hope he hosts another one soon.

  9. Hi, Meghan, there’s never a way to miss a “write your *** off day” – just pick a day. I confess, my chosen day ended up equaling about an 1 1/2 hours. Over the week, I may have garnered five, maybe six hours if you count marketing and reworking my query. Still not the eight hours. Alas, the time I spent uploading my notes into a unified setting in the hopes it would help me get a handle on my next novel have reinforced that this is not a novel I want to do. I guess it’s good to know that now, rather than later. Sigh.

Leave a comment